A Lunar Encounter

in #writing7 years ago

During a stroll out in the crisp air this evening, The Moon peeked out from behind a wisp of clouds.

"Oh my, you've startled me," I uttered in both unrestrained surprise and moderate awe.

"My... My most humble um... Apologies. Allow me to call upon another cloud to cover me. I really am so sorry," stuttered The Moon in unearthly, sorrowful shame.

"No, no, please. Veil not thine countenance, for you truly are majestic," I said, unblinking, gazing upon The Moon's splendour.

Beaming once again, The Moon admitted, "Your people have made me feel unnecessary with your artificial, independent ways of illuminating the night."

"A pity, but we do need you. Let not your insecurity stop you from shining."

"Thank you, so very much. Perhaps next month I'll show off my other side!" The Moon exclaimed, carried away in its newfound confidence.

"Oh God, no, keep that pock-marked wasteland for yourself and for barren old Mars."


Image source: Pixabay
#humor #darkhumour #darkhumor #space #conversations #dialogue

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45