So You Stayed Quiet

in #writing7 years ago

This poem is not meant to start any political debates. Please enjoy.

image

A man is talking about how things should be done.
He continues to speak as you sit there stunned.
He promises he will make everything better.
And the woman who opposes him is shrouded by her husbands Scarlett letter.
It doesn’t affect you. So you stay quiet.

You watch him rise, but think it’s a joke.
There’s no way he can go far, bearing that white cloak.
Besides.
It doesn’t affect you. So you stay quiet.

He’s done it, the polls say he’s leading.
Wracking up the leader board; his enemies lay bleeding.
Still spewing hate and repression.
But people blindly follow him without a single question.
But it doesn’t affect you. So you stay quiet.

Well now he’s won. No one saw that coming.
Do you hear those war drums humming?
A nation grieves, a world grieves.
Is it true this country is now run by thieves?
He’s made promises that are true terror.
We watch as he blunders through on trial & Error.
But
It doesn’t affect you. So you stay quiet.

Targeting one group, and then another
We watch as he tears apart sisters and brothers
These are the bad ones.
The murders and rapists’ with illegal guns.
It doesn’t affect you. So you stay quiet.

Ban the many to protect the few
Does anyone dare question his point of view.
Those ones are good, they carry a cross
No one questions him, as he said, “I’m the boss.”
It doesn’t affect you. So you stay quiet.

Transgender’s aren’t people, and neither are gays
He will protect us from them in the coming days.
Mexicans are low, and so are the blacks.
Listen to him, and he’ll give them the axe.
But it doesn’t affect you. So you stay quiet.

Your skin is white, you have a cross in your home
Quietly you sat and let this hatred roam.
It doesn’t affect you…
And you pause…
And you look around at the hate.
You wonder what could possibly be this country’s fate.
Still you wonder how it got so bad
Is it now too late for you to be mad?
But. It doesn’t affect you. So you stay quiet.

If you listen to him, you may actually believe
That we should protect ourselves from all of these things...
These things, these non-white beings…
And in the end, if it didn’t affect you, why rise up and take a stand.
Grasping hand in hand
The people of this country
That have once called it home
Now fear everything and just want to be left alone.

I am white,
A female,
But still.
It didn’t affect me,
So I should keep my tongue still.

I let too much go by and be said,
I passed the days, as if standing on my head.
It didn’t affect me, so what should I say,
I’ll be protected in the coming days.

That is until, all the others are gone.
People have fled, to escape these wrongs.
So now here I sit
Alone.
Afraid.
It didn’t affect me back in those days.

Does that make it right to sit in the dark,
Hope for the best, ignore the remarks.
It didn’t affect me.
But with everyone gone,
He’ll need someone to bully
Now I am that pawn.

Sort:  

Great words ! I too am a poet and writer who likes to write about experiences I feel . I would be glad of you have a look at my work or repost it ❤

Very well written! Upvoted and Followed!
We of @poetrytrail are always looking for quality content like yours! Hope you will hop on too and take part in our poetry and story writing events, it would be a shame if we couldn’t share this great writing with more of the community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51