You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Struggle to be Imperfect

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

What I really want is happiness. And I’m not sure that perfection is the way to get there.

This right here.

I don't think happiness has to do anything with being perfect. It's basically expectations you have, or how you might envision it - but that also gives disappointment an opportunity to check in as well. From what I experienced is that you shouldn't expect much, so when it ends up not that good, you won't be as disappointed. This could be small things too. I guess this is one of my most common expectations: The trailer of a movie is amazing, but the movie is not.

Happiness is not perfection as you think it should be. Happiness is seeing that also the imperfections are perfect, because that is who you are. You are perfect in your own way.

Also, @things, read this

Sort:  

That's what I'm working on right now, getting rid of the correlation in my mind between happiness and perfection. And I love how you put it, that "happiness is seeing that the imperfections are also perfect."

Spread some love and acceptance!

Imperfections belong with life too. Some you can change, some you can't. Nothing can be perfect, there is no such thing. Nature is proof of that. However, that doesn't mean that imperfections are bad. It can make something even pretty or special in a good way. Some people collect misprinted comics for a reason, and they are high valuable. There are not many of it - it is special.

I like imperfections. They make things special.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43