Money over Love series by @sirdavid (part #1)

in #writing7 years ago

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.
However little known the feelings or view of such a man may be on his first entering a neighbourhood, this truth is so considered as rightful property of someone or other of their daughters.
"My dear Mr. John," said his lady to him one day, " Have you heard that Central park is let at last?"
Mr. John replied that he had not.
"But it is", returned she; " for Mrs. Lee has just been here,and she told me all about it".
Mr. John made no answer.
"Do not you want to know who has taken it?" cried his wife impatiently.
"You want to tell me and I have no objection hearing to it" said Mr.John .
This was invitation enough.
"Why,my dear, you must know, Mrs. Lee says that Central park is taken by a young man of large fortune from the north of India; that he came down on Monday in a entourage and four to see the place , and was so much delighted with it that he agreed with Mr.Charles immediately; that he is to take possession before christmas , and some of his servants are to be in the house by the end of next week."
"What is his name?"
"Prithvi."
"Is he married or single?"
"Oh! single, my dear , to be sure ! A single man of large fortune ;billions in a year . What a fine thing for our girls!"
"How so how can it affect them?"
"My dear , Mr.John", replied his wife, "how can you be so tiresome! You must know that I am thinking of his marrying one of them".
"Is that his design in setting here?"
"Design! nonsense , how can you talk so! But it is very likely that he may fall in love with one of'em, and therefore you must visit him as soon as he comes."
" I see no occasion for that. You and the girls may go, or you may send them by themselves, which perhaps will be the best, for as you are handsome as many of them, Mr. Prithvi might like you the best of the party."
"My dear , you flatter me. I certainly have had my share of my beauty, but i do not pretend to be anything extraordinary now.When a woman has five grownup daughters, she ought to give over thinking of her own beauty."
"In such cases , a woman has not often much beauty think of."
"But my dear , you must go and see Mr. Prithvi , when he comes into the neighbourhood."
"It is more than i engage for , I assure you."
"But consider your daughters, Just imagine what an establishments it could turn out to be for one of them. Danny and Lucy are determined to go for the same purpose in their minds.Indeed you must go otherwise it would be impossible for us to visit him if you do not."

(image is just the representation)
"You are day dreaming surely. I dare say Mr. Prithvi will be very glad to see you; and i will ask him for marrying whichever girls he chooses among them ."
" I desire you will do no such things .Lizzy is no such better than the others ; and i am sure she is not half so handsome as Jane, but you are always giving her preference."
"They have none of them much to recommend."
replied he;"they are all silly and ignorant like other girls;but Lizzy has more of quickness than other sisters".
"Mr.John how can you abuse your children in such a way?"
"You mistaken me , my dear."
"Ah!you don't know what i suffer."
"But i hope you will get over it; and live to see many young men of billion a year come into the neighbourhood."
"It will be no use to us if twenty such should come since you will not visit them all."
"Depend upon it, my dear, that when there are twenty, I will visit them all."
Mr. John was so odd mixture of quick parts,sarcastic humour , reserve and fancy, that the experience of three and twenty years had been insufficient to make his wife understand his character. Her mind was less difficult to develop. The business of her wife was to get her daughters married;its solace was visiting and the news.

The story is so long And I have decided to make it in parts .
Please Upvote this Post . Re-steem this post as many times as possible.
The dollar Value at the end of the story will be divided in equal proportions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63927.21
ETH 2754.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65