You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Medieval Women Mystics

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Hello again, I would be very interested in your research/study of the agnostic cathars of southern France, before their genocide by the Holy Roman Catholic Church. Their mysticism was of a particularly interesting nature, compared to the more 'in the box' variety of regular church believers.
I might not vote here often, but I am reading and following. Keep on keeping on. 😇

Sort:  

I know I've read a bit on the Cathars during my research travels, so I might have a look at what you've mentioned.

I appreciate that you have enjoyed reading the posts, thank you for your support. :)

In Caboolture, every year for several now, at Abbeystow, they hold a Medieval Fair/Festival. People from all over Australia set up sites in a paddock, with everything from weaving to cloth-making, from Viking longboats to Moslem janissaries. There is jousting, toffee-apples, Turkish coffee, and Shuvani soul-dancers. Google Search. Unfortunately, I lost my Ph's backup in my laptop crash, and cannot access my ext hddv just at present, but there are many fine photos on internet. Abbeystow near Caboolture, near Brisbane, in SEQ.

Found it: https://abbeymedievalfestival.com/ Looks like a wonderful festival to get to experience.

I'm sure I've some photos, but my hddvs are off line, and until I can secure my laptop again, it's a bit of battle to get photos transferred. But maybe in a couple of days. I'm driving out bush tomorrow, so no computers. Unsure what I've backed up, but I will send some. 😑

Speaking of research, and hard to find sources. I'm not sure where, but the soul-dancers (Shuvani, {gypsy} [silk-road travellers]) have a dance class in Petrie, a town in SEQ. If you find them on www, their 'mater'/headwoman¿ might put you in the way of much silk-road 'women's history'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42