You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes From An Amateur Writer #41 - What Are Some of Your Favourite Books?

in #writing7 years ago

The Baroque Cycle by Neal Stephenson. It's an epic 3-volume masterpiece of historical fiction with a small amount of science fiction mixed in. It's set in the late 17th and early 18th centuries, with the simultaneous invention of Calculus by Newton and Leibniz as the centerpiece. The entire trilogy is a 3000+ page monster, so it requires quite a time investment (I think in paperback it's actually divided into 8 books). But totally worth it. Stephenson weaves his fictional events and characters into real history in a fascinating way, and uses language in a rather unique way, with a lot of archaic words to give his writing a feel of the time period. I've never read anything else like it.

Another favorite is the Hyperion series (sci-fi, 4 books) by Dan Simmons. I've read another book by Simmons that I found a bit boring, but this particular series is very engaging and full of big and thoughtful ideas.

Sort:  

The Baroque Cycle sounds fascinating. The mix of the historical and the SciFi has me curious. Instead of alternative history it sounds like something slightly evolved from that. I will seek it out and see how I go. Sounds like it will take a while to get through, but I'm fine with that.

If I get the chance I will see how I go with Hyperion. Is that more straight up SciFi? Always happy to get recommendations for new SciFi books and authors.

Thanks for your comment.

The sci-fi in the Baroque Cycle is subtle and minimal. Just a few details. I'm not even sure that sci-fi is the right word, to be honest. Maybe I should rather say that it has a few elements of 'speculative fiction'.

Yes, Hyperion is straight up sci-fi. Takes place in the far future on other planets. But it's not very actiony, more slow-moving and philosophical.

Sounds like the sort of SciFi I like - Speculative. I understand that The Baroque Cycle is minimal, which is fine. Love the concept so I will give it a go.

As for Hyperion, the philosophical type stories usually grab me more than any others. Started with Philip K Dick, so that's my main SciFi background.

Holy Cow! Sounds intense ... my head hurts just thinking about calculus ...

Lol, nice picture! Don't worry, no calculus in the book, although it does explain a bit the process of inventing it. I passionately hated calculus in college, couldn't do well in it no matter how much time and effort I put in, so I would have given up on the books pretty quick if there was any calculus, haha.

Thanks for the reassurance :)

lol, love the image.
Hopefully it's a story involving calculus in its storyline, and not requiring the knowledge of it. Otherwise I am in trouble.

I would be too, haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63