Questions for Writers on Steemit

in #writing7 years ago

I'm curious about writers here on Steemit. How many of you approach writing here daily as a job?

First, coffee. Next, Steemit.

giphy (2).gif

I love writing here. I am treating it as a form of self-care. Writing is my therapy, and doing it twice a day has helped me in ways I didn't know were possible. Specifically, I didn't know I was able to churn out this many coherent thoughts with discipline. This daily writing has me rethinking my lack of commitment to my memoir and my book of short stories.

To be honest, I have at least 10 books inside me right now, but I've never believed myself capable of follow-through.

giphy (3).gif

So, how often do you write? Do you write daily? I say I write two pieces daily because that's my norm, but sometimes I pull from my blog, and sometimes I queue work ahead. I engage with two pieces daily for sure. Some days I write six, especially if I know my week will be busy. Today I'm at four.

What are your favorite tips and tricks? What are your favorite topics to read? What's your favorite ice cream? My current fave is Halo Top Peanut Butter Cup. I wish I had a pint right now.

giphy (4).gif

Speaking of which, I'm hungry. I should stop writing and feed myself. Does anyone else have this problem where one form of self-care prevents another form of self-care?

Okay, enough questions. I'll be back soon in hopes some of you have answers!

gifs from giphy.com

Sort:  

Nice post

Well, I don't approach it as my daily job....not just yet. The pay is too sporadic. =)

I do love to write here as well. There's no other place like it on the Internet.

I write something daily.

It might be a Steemit post, part of a book, a poem, a song, or just something scribbled in passing...but it's something.

Tips and tricks? Hmm...finding ways around spending a fortune for either tools I don't need for writing or...well, tips and tricks. haha

I love to read conspiracy stuff. I also enjoy historical things and how to make money online type content.

My current favorite ice cream is Bunny's Birthday Cake.

The overspending on unnecessary writing supplies? That is a problem I absolutely have. Office supply stores kill my budget. It's amazing that you are writing daily, and that ice cream sounds delicious!

Oh well, I was speaking strictly of online tools......we can't talk about pens and paper. haha

Girl, it is! It has blue icing IN it and chunks of cake. I can't even!

I didn't even consider online tools! Whoa. I need to rebudget. LOL. Also, nom. My stomach is growling.

We shouldn't talk about shopping. We're going to bankrupt each other. :-P

Bahaahahaha! True!

As you know, for me, it's two daily pieces. They are usually new but with current pressures I'm doing a lot of pulling from my blog right now!

I've pulled a few from my blog. I'm enjoying writing two new things daily, though. It's a healthy sort of challenge.

This is funny because this morning I was telling myself as I was working on my second post that I would love to make a living waking up at 5 am and after my morning routine, coming up with some new material were people may stumble on it on here. This was a fantastic read and you got a resteem, upvote, and follow from me.

Thank you! I'm heading over to read you once I respond to comments. I LOVE writing so much. If I didn't have parenting/homeschooling/teaching, I would probably be writing 4-6 Steemit posts per day. Writing is a relief for me, although that much would start to feel like work after a week or so. :)

I write almost every day from around 9-2 p.m, but I try to put more focus on my other creative writing. In general I feel like it has more return potential long-term than writing for here. Writing for steemit is fun, something I do when I want to relax or enjoy myself.

I do find writing here very relaxing and fun. This place is so much better than Facebook because it's a talent showcase rather than an alarmist echo chamber. Or maybe that's just my FB feed. ;) Either way, I'm super jealous of your schedule. I want to write that much every day, and yes, I hear what you are saying about creative writing potential.

I'm super lucky to be able to write that much everyday. And yes, FB feels like a war zone at times. I do post creative things on there, but most people aren't used to it.

I've noticed people like nonfiction updates like life/blog posts. Otherwise it's just reshares of memes and biased articles. I have a good number of friends in the lit and dis art communities who post beautiful, creative work and have large interaction. But there is no pay. It's something.

I too treat posting here as self-care. It keeps me accountable as a writer and lets me branch out from topics I was feeling mired in on my regular blog. Now may I have some of your fave ice cream pleeeeeeeease? <3

Totally willing to share exactly one bite. More likely I will buy you your own pint and we can nom in companionable, writerly, self-care silence. ;)

I both enjoy the community of Steemit, and the positivity here, but I also do come here as I would a job.

I treat it just as I would a 9-5. Yes I have my fun but I am serious too. Coffee then steemit. Yup!

My fav tips and tricks? Um.. Coffee. and a cat on the keyboard. Not my choice ;) Passion. I have to want to write about it! If I have an assignment, I totally procrastinate lol. And not checking Social media or email- actually writing - it IS my job after all :)

My current favorite Ice Cream is strawberry Cheesecake and these little bites I just discovered called Mo.

I believe in the blockchain, and can see that Steemit is the future. The potentials of this platform are limitless. I am here to stay :)

Yes to that ice cream! And yes to passion for your work. If I could make this my 9-5, I totally would.

Keep at it and it quite possibly can become your 9-5 :)

I'm not at a place financially where I can treat writing like my job, but I hope to get there!

My struggle with writing is that I feel so much but there aren't always words to it. Sometimes I'll mull over a feeling or idea for days until I can begin to attempt articulating it.

I'm very, very new to this. I've wanted a writing outlet for years (the Romance Writers' group was definitely NOT my groove...), and finally started to just write stuff that pleased me. I've even posted a couple tiny children's books with Kindle's self-publishing site. Now that I've found Steemit, and knowing I might get some actual feedback on my posts, I'm pretty pumped to do one post a day. Oh, and B&J's Karamel Sutra ice cream, all the way! Hurray for Steemit!!

The feedback is my favorite part of being here. I don't get nearly as many comments as readers, so thank you for stopping in! Following you and will be reading asap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99