Opening up to my weaknesses in order to get stronger | Honesty

in #writing5 years ago

It was a Saturday, a weekend where people rest and don't think about work. Although that is also what I do, I also go after my goals. I was thinking about what I need to do forward in the comin weeks. My aim is to be able to go after my goals more effectively. There are two things bad habits that is affecting me. Procrastination is a big one. Secondly, it is the lack of confidence in my abilities. Thirdly: I can be messy and untidy.

Procrastination

I have a bad habit of this. I imagine what it would be like to be successful, to have the physique that I want. To have a successful steemit channels and so on. When I have to do tasks that I do not like at all, I look for other things to do sometimes. That is where procrastination is. It is some type of escapism from reality.

I want to change that, that is my next goal, to stop procrastinating. It is a dream killer. I have noticed that one of the things I do that makes me do this is because I plan to do lots of things in one day. When it is time for me to do it I get overwhelmed by my own tasks. I will be doing 2 to 3 tasks everyday, and no more than that each day for my goals. This way I will ensure I get them done without failure. If I plan lots of task and fail then I feel really pathetic and that shakes up my sense of confidence. This takes me to the next point.

Lack of confidence

The above point also leads me to this too. But sometimes I do suffer from this. Especially when people try to put this in my head. I noticed amongst super successful athletes is that they almost delude themselves to a crazy level of self confidence (not arrogance). This is not overconfidence either, just the guts to have the self-belief that I am special unique and I will achieve great things when I put work in.

I realised not to overthink of any missed opportunity and what I failed doing. I should focus on what I can do and more importantly, develop the mindset of supreme confidence. Being levelheaded allows me to do that. And also reminding myself of what I have done so far that many thought I wouldn't be able to do. People thought I can never do well academically and I did get a 1st Class. No one believed that I will be able to get married and convince my parents to be with our decision of marriage ( not that it would have made a difference on our decision to get married, but it is good to do it if possible). I finally did it. I proved everyone wrong so far in the last few years. Time to further prove everyone wrong.

Being not organised

This is something I struggled with for a long time. I come home to try to do some work, but if my room is messy then my mind becomes messy. It is important to keep my room clean before anything.

This is my honest notes to what my flaws are and what I need to do about it.


Image source: https://elestoque.org/2019/03/31/opinion/why-its-impossible-to-stop-procrastinating/

https://sayingimages.com/muhammad-ali-quotes/

Open Spotify.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello @shadlife, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02