10 Quotes from Writer Virginia WoolfsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

George_Charles_Beresford_-_Virginia_Woolf_in_1902_-_Restoration.jpg

Virginia Woolf (25 January 1882 – 28 March 1941) was an English writer and feminist that is considered one of the pioneers of using stream of consciousness as a method of writing. A list of her full-length works include:

The Voyage Out (1915)
Night and Day (1919)
Jacob's Room (1922)
Mrs Dalloway (1925)
To the Lighthouse (1927)
Orlando (1928)
The Waves (1931)
The Years (1937)
Between the Acts (1941)

Here are 10 quotes from Virginia Woolf.


"You cannot find peace by avoiding life."

"If you do not tell the truth about yourself you cannot tell it about other people."

"As a woman I have no country. As a woman my country is the whole world."

"One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well."

“Why are women... so much more interesting to men than men are to women?”

“Writing is like sex. First you do it for love, then you do it for your friends, and then you do it for money.”

“No need to hurry. No need to sparkle. No need to be anybody but oneself.”

“Second hand books are wild books, homeless books; they have come together in vast flocks of variegated feather, and have a charm which the domesticated volumes of the library lack.”

“I thought how unpleasant it is to be locked out; and I thought how it is worse, perhaps, to be locked in.”

“Nothing thicker than a knife's blade separates happiness from melancholy.”


Images are courtesy of Wikicommons.

I am Scott. I write poetry and lyrics and sometimes I write about life. Please upvote and follow. Find out more at my website

Sort:  

As a fan of your Ten Quotes series on YouTube, I'm glad to read this one.

I'll have to do more of those.

You should!

Love this one.... “Nothing thicker than a knife's blade separates happiness from melancholy.”

Yes, that is a great quote.

I live by these words, One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well. However, I really hope writing isn't like sex. hahaha, that is a funny way of looking at it. Do you have a favorite?

I like “No need to hurry. No need to sparkle. No need to be anybody but oneself.”, but I also like “Nothing thicker than a knife's blade separates happiness from melancholy.”. I don't think writing is like sex, because I actually get to write once in awhile. lol

I really enjoy that first quote about being oneself. Seems to be a common theme when joining steemit and staying motivated when writing. haha, see you and i view that last quote you mentioned the same. Have you read all her books?

I've only read Mrs Dalloway. I quite liked it. Her writing style has a stream of consciousness aspect to it which I like because I am a fan of Kerouac as he writes similarly.

I had no idea who he was and find it interesting they call him a literary iconoclast, would you agree?

I would definitely agree with that. He had a hard time finding a publisher early on because his work was so against the grain. His style was so new that the publishers didn't really know what to make of it.

Funny, isn't it? How most artist that creative content against the social norm or outside the box are often the ones that struggle too?!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kubby Elizabeth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59131.70
ETH 2599.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40