You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building up to Christmas with Dusty the Demon Hunter - A Blast from the Past - Flights of Fantasy Part 1

in #writing6 years ago

This is going to be a nice story also just like that of miss diamond.
By the way, I will like to ask why your main characters are always women?
@michelle.gent
I like it though.

Sort:  

My main characters are always women for a few reasons.

There aren't enough strong women characters.
Often, strong women characters rely on their male counterpart and therefore aren't independent - mine are, for the most part (Hunter helped Dusty out in the last story).
I'm a woman and I feel I can writer better about women as a lead character.

Mainly though, I want to write about strong women as the protagonist to my stories.

Finley Moran (coming soon) is male and Ash (in Ash and the Favour Man) was not a woman, she was a child.

Thanks for the question!

I get what you mean. Thanks for explaining.

@seyiodus

When you say "enough" what do you mean? There are lots of strong female protagonists in fiction both literary and visual. For example just off the top of my head, in the Dean Koontz Frankenstein series there is Carson O'Connor. The Kathy Reichs' novels and the television series derived from them ie Bones has Temperance Brennan. There's Buffy from the show Buffy along with all the other powerful women like Willow and Faith. Star Trek Voyager had Kathryn Janeway. Jane Eyre is a more dated literary example but Jane is actually the most independent on this list if you ignore that she inherits money from a man. There's Miss Marple, Zena, Warrior Princess, Wonder Woman and the list goes on even reaching back into ancient literature, mythology and history like Kali or Durga form Hinduism and other powerful goddess and women. So I think that the statement that "There aren't enough strong women characters." is very subjective and in my entertainment experience inaccurate.

I think that when you said "Mainly though, I want to write about strong women as protagonists to my stories" that was the only response required. I don't think women as protagonists need justification in terms of non existent literary sexism, the author writes what s/he wants, and people can either appreciate their work or not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56