You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Love in the Age of Machines

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I met my wife online in the late 90's. It took 14 years for us to get together. From the start we had a connection.

I used to spend hours chatting with her online. Not only with her. I had my gaming clan, and also many forums in which I participated.

One day I was sitting at my computer, typing out a reply to someone when I noticed a bird tapping it's beak against the window behind me. That same bird turned up, day after day. It would sit for hours tapping against the window, and hopping along the ledge looking at itself..

One day, as I contemplated the bird's behavioiur. I realized the parallel between communicating with people online and this bird. When we talk to people online, we do so through text. The text is not able to convey much about who that person is, so our mind fills in the blanks.

Just as the bird becomes fascinated by its own reflection in the window. Just as it becomes enamored of this handsome companion that follows its every move. So we can become fascinated by who we imagine other people are online. We create them as reflections of ourselves, essentially falling in love with ourselves. I think this is one of the subtle changes that have been brought about through plugging into the network.

As time has gone by, people have become more demanding of their online associates. Shows like 'Catfish' illustrate well how much we can become the victim of our own desire.

Sort:  

Fascinating. We definitely superimpose our selves on others.

Fully agree with you , have to say for me personally online communication feels a bit off and I have seen it in many people, that superficial "how are you?" just to push the narrative forward and show you something they like .

Respect and trust grow in person , for me at least, most people have online personalities much different from their own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60