You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WRITERS: How do you stay motivated?

in #writing7 years ago

It goes about the same way for me. Usually write in waves as motivation/inspiration takes over. However, there are times I must write things that have a deadline. Those moments it does feel like work.

How do I push through? How do I create motivation?

Well, it's a grind. But I focus on a topic and gather info. It becomes more of a analytical task and then force pen to pad. After a short while the creatives juices get going and I'm on my way again. Other times, not so much and it just feels like a chore the whole way through - in those cases just gotta put your head down and push through it.

Sort:  

I wish that my creative inspiration would work much like laughter. In other words, I can walk into a room where people are already laughing, and after a few seconds I will find myself laughing as well. I don't even have to know why they are laughing. It's contagious, so I fall right into it. You can also make yourself laugh by faking it first. The endorphins in your brain don't know the difference, and eventually take over and the laughter becomes real. But I haven't been able to get my creativity to work that way. It would be so great if it did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60140.96
ETH 2378.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59