Look at one of the highlights of my childhood : winning a Lego building contest !

in #writing7 years ago

image

We are around 1990, I am 10 years while I hear our local shopping will do a Lego building contest.

The rules were explained :

  • you can maximum be 12 (check)
  • bricks are available in all sizes and colors
  • you can use a max of 25 bricks

So i did what every 'normal' 10 year old would do. I started to prepare. At least 2 hours per day I modelled and tried what you could make with 25 bricks.

After 2 months perfection. With only standard white and red bricks I managed to make a catamaran. I took one brick out of the sail for a turntable and there it was

The perfect Lego catamaran !

Day of the contest. Screaming, nervous children. But not me I was ready (Eminem style).

Hardest time was finding the right bricks. I found them all and handed in my work of perfection.

Went home told my parents I would win. Calm and sure of myself.

6 PM prices !

And I won. You have no idea how happy I was. First price !

When the crowd applauded some were laughing but I didnt care I knew I prepared and deserved this

The victory tag still on this box that I kept in perfect shape proofs again how happy I was with this box...

I think about this story a lot when I doubt why I should put so much work in preparation. But you see determination gave me a priceless child memory !

Sort:  

Can't help asking to see the winning catamaran design!

Here it is. Isnt it brilliant :-) ? The sail is on a turntable

image

A prize-worthy piece of engineering indeed!

Im also thinking alot about it lately. Moreover all my childhood lego is now in my attic.

When I find a free moment Ill go for it :-)

Ill keep you posted. Prepare to be amazed :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54