Brutal Truth of Self-Promotion?

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

As a former editor and content team lead, we had no choice but to shamelessly self-promote our work. In my eyes, if you didn't do it yourself, no one else was going to do it for you (at least not for free). You can imagine how startled I was to read Please Shut Up: Why Self-Promotion As An Author Doesn't Work. As much as I was conflicted with the headline, there wasn't anything in the article that I didn't agree with.

1) "Twitter Doesn't Sell Books"

Giphy

I've been spammed with hundreds of free ebooks that I never downloaded. I don't care how nice the person is. I'm not going out on a limb to take up more of my storage space for the sake of being polite.

2) "Facebook Hides Posts For Blackmail Purposes"

Giphy

Facebook is pretty cruel to the average Joe just trying to self-promote. In order for your content to remotely be seen, you have to funnel money into sponsored posts and advertising.

3) "Because People Aren't On Instagram To Find Books"

I'm on Instagram to like pictures of people's food, self-loath over travel photos, and stalk SaltBae's day-to-day activities.

Giphy


What makes me want to read a new book?

1) Goodreads recommendations

2) Random library selections

3) A friend casually saying, "Hey I think you will like this book."


Giphy

I will literally love you forever and ever. Even if the book sucks.


So how does one self-promote? Personally, I go back to growing your network. My Twitter had almost ten-thousand followers at one point, and none of them were active supporters. Make real connections, people that you learn and grow with. That is your network.

Sort:  

Good words. My friends and followers both here and Facebook have prodded me to write a book, or compile one of my poetry writings.
Self publishing was too horribly complicated, "PAGE PUBLISHING" the only real publisher I contacted, wanted over $3,000 up front, while only guaranteeing to print a set number, place them in stores and websites, but nothing more.
I don't have 3 grand+ to drop that way, and be stuck with 400 (I guess) copies of my book to give away.
How does one go about getting a 'goodreads' recommendation? I go to goodreads for quotes and references.
Post upvoted, btw ♥

Thank you @jerrytsusser :) it's been a pleasure following your work on Steemit! While your friends and I would be the first in line for a copy of your book, I definitely understand why you made that decision.

It seems this is the way marketing is going, and I think it's time for writers to think unconventionally if they want to find a more meaningful following.

Thank you for the compliment @sarahtops9000. It is heartwarming to think that there are really people following me.
In truth, the comments and shares of my posts have dwindled to almost nothing in the last week or so.
Very discouraged at this point. :(

It has been a bit dry lately :( I'm hoping to keep active and supporting other's content as much as I can.

I've got 500 followers which 90% of them do follow4follow that never vote anyways, I'd rather have 50 genuine followers to actually view my posts :)

Yes, yes indeed. You sell them one single copy a time. Connecting with people about your work is more of a crockpot recipe than it is a stirfry recipe.

I really like that analogy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40