Being a sensitive woman is powerful, but I didn't always believe that.

in #writing7 years ago

I absolutely love being a woman. I love this body, I love this experience... I even love the heightened emotional sensitivity that tends to come with being a woman in tune with her femininity.

c2gBuZ2.jpg

In the past, when various emotions would come up, I would to try to fight against the wave - not wanting to feel what I felt. It seems that I held a deeply rooted unconscious belief that acceptance was bad, wrong, or terrifying.

Being with what is, is not the same as condoning it.

Presently, I find my peace and expansion in the ability to dive beneath the waves, consciously choosing the perspective of observant curiosity.

pexels-photo-52665.jpeg

This approach, as opposed to attachment or resistance to the emotion, is the foundation of a more present experience. After all, what you resist persists.

There is not only peace, but also tremendous power in being an observer of your emotions, being willing to feel them, and diving into the shadows that are asking to be illuminated.

Any feeling fully felt is bliss.

xo,
Samantha Lynn

Sort:  

It takes time for people to learn this lesson, but I really like this:

consciously choosing the perspective of observant curiosity

If we try to suppress our thoughts and feelings, they seem to pop up at other times and in other ways. If we don't take notice and deal with our thoughts and feelings, we become slaves to them and seem to lose forward progress.

Thanks for this article which made me think, and offer up my opinion on it!

Yes, definitely! Suppression is only a temporary fix, and a precursor to a more explosive emotion later. Being observant instead of resistant or critical is very helpful. Thanks for tuning in!

I agree. Giving in to vulnerability as a women can be a challenge. Im trying to see that strength of it in my life as well! Nice post.

Agreed! It wasn't easy to transform this belief, and I'm still not perfect, but my dominating response now is one of surrender instead of resistance. I'm glad you enjoyed this musing :) Thanks for reading!

Definately one of the many great things about women, and actually is a real strength. live in the now and be who you are. Supression of ones real self is never a good thing. Unfortunately to many men and women take their cues from the mass media, never realizing who they really are.
Good on ya.

Agreed! I definitely did that for a long time too (taking cues from the masses), but I can't transform something if I am too busy making it wrong (which the masses tend to do with any "negative" emotion). Appreciate your encouragement!

A sensitive article from the heart Sambo. Upvoted and now added to my autovoter 30 mins after posting :)

Auto voter?! That's a thing? Thank you!

https://steemvoter.com/ Sign up Sambo and add your favourite Steemians - I use autovoter plus I do votes manually by hand too. It's really handy when your followers ramp up on Steemit! Have a good day today :)

That's awesome! Just signed up. You made the list :P
Have a good day!

I'm happy about that ;)

lovely read

Thanks so much!

Congratulations @samanthalynn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

The world needs powerful divine feminine energy now more than ever.

Yes, absolutely! And a reconciliation of the divine masculine and feminine within all of us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43