The Handyman

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Someone rings your doorbell, you open the door.

'The handyman!' a man in blue overalls yells. 'That'll be 15,000 dollars!'
'Why?' you ask.
'Why, why...?! Because I say so! That's why!' the man in blue shouts.
'But, why should I pay you?' you ask politely.
'For all the jobs I am going to do for you. Services, let's say.'
'But... what jobs then?' you ask.
'Well, I will decide that! At any rate, very useful jobs!' the man barks.
'Hmm, in that case, no thank you,' you say.
'No no, you don't understand! You're just going to pay me, or else I'll put you in a cage!' the man threatens.

The man explains that he hires people with guns and that he will force you with those weapons, if you refuse his offer.

You give in and pay.

You hear from your neighbors that the same man and other handymen have been at their door as well. They paid the man, too. You decide to gather in the community center.

The people discuss and debate. Some want to hire the blue handyman, while others prefer another handyman in red overalls, and others want the one in yellow. But nobody seems to wonder if those handymen are actually a good idea. Regardless of the possible quality of their work...

Eventually, everyone votes on the matter and after counting the votes, the red handyman wins.

After a while, a new handyman comes ringing at everyone's doorbell.

'That'll be 15,000 dollars!' the man in red shouts. 'And it may be more in the future! Or less, but I will decide that!'
'But,' you say, 'I thought...'
'Yeah yeah thinking thinking!' the handyman says. 'Leave the thinking to me. YOU have chosen me!'
'But, I don't agree,' you tell him.
'That's okay,' the man in red says. 'But you're going to pay me, or I will lock you up!'

You bow your head and pay.


Strange little story, right? But this is what happens to us every day. Your government determines THAT you should pay and WHAT you should pay for. Besides, the same government decides which services you get in return (and whether you get anything in return at all). About all those issues, you have no say. You are only allowed to choose for another frontman, another color. For you, the conditions stay the same: you have to obey, or you'll end up, under the threat of violence, in a cage.

If you like this post, don't forget to upvote, follow @rvanstel and resteem! Have a nice day!

Sort:  

@rvanstel I wrote this similar article but way too longer..and receive only pennies for it lol Can you check it out?...should I write smaller articles?
Steemit - social network that pay users for their content
https://steemit.com/freedom/@cmoljoe/road-to-freedom-series-2-the-myth-of-authority

I've read it brother. Good stuff! Gave you my upvote.

I don't think your post is too long, and I think most people that would be interested in the topic don't mind reading it. More often you see that people can't concentrate on long pieces of text anymore, but I don't think that's the case in our community.

I actually do have a lot of concentration problems while reading. It helps when the post is interesting, but at some point I will get distracted by something ^^*

Hi @rvanstal that was a nice metaphor. Are the blue, red and yellow representing colors of political parties? There are nearly not distinguishable like the parties we have in reality ;). They fight small battles no one cares about while they all agree on the fundamentals, that the people are questioning. I don' believe that what we have is real democracy.

Can I feature your article in my series "what I read in politics today"?

Hi @politics-trail, thanks for reading! Yes, the colors represent the different politica parties or 'flavors' let's say. I completely agree with you. Especially here in the Netherlands, all parties except for the (failing) libertarian party, all parties agree that big government is by definition the way to go, which is a shame. The only thing they fight about is where tax money goes to. In other words, how innocent people's money is taken away from them and redistributed to others. Nobody seems to wonder if that's a good idea at all anymore.

Of course you can feature this article! I would really appreciate it.

@politics-trail I started to blog about anarchy and voluntaryism. Wrote this similar article, but just longer. Check it out... https://steemit.com/freedom/@cmoljoe/road-to-freedom-series-2-the-myth-of-authority

Ah yes, I stumbled across your post. I needed to fix my PC, it was rapidly crashing yesterday and I think that held me from actually reading. It looks very good at first glance, I love that movie :).

Can I also feature you in politics today? Not sure if I will, because I have not read yet, but I am pretty certain that I will want to ;)

Of course you can.

When you read it, can you tell me your opinion about lenght of article. My opinion is that isn't to long because that theme is long and complicated. Should I write shorter articles?

I will address that in my comment, I am in the middle of reading, but looking at how much I have left, it is definitely on the linger side. It is hard to set a limit of min max for an article. You could write a whole book as an article and it might be worth reading it all. You sometimes actually have to question if it is worth it for you as an Author or if you should rather split a topic into a series.

Well...was a little lost in the middle of the handy man story but from the lesson the picture became quite clear...good message ...truly its what's happening in our societies...

The meme wraps it up just perfectly, good and fresh post my brother! The illusion of choice, the delusion of freedom.

LOL, the meme ;)

Humor is a powerful tool, my friend!

we need to vote for people who can make government smaller

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45