You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ron Paul - Frédéric Bastiat - Lysander Spooner .. On my political evolution

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Ok Puff, let's do this. I spent the better half of my life as a full blown progressive. I was trapped in that bubble hating everything that was not progressive. Then, this past election cycle I red pilled hard. Part of it was moving & living in Japan. The other part was the venom spewed by the left against anyone not towing the line. This in my opinion is the most dangerous part as it's leading towards communism. We all knew Hillary was a crook, yet they rigged the primaries so she won. To top that the left started calling everyone racist & misogynist who didn't agree with them. I've recently found out this is the tactic of the Postmodernists & identity politics which divides us all.

Those two things really pulled me out of the bubble I'd been in. I started to actually listen to the other side & the centrists. And they had legit points on regulation, taxation etc. I know because I experienced what the left wanted to do first hand in Japan and Japan isn't near as bad as the EU. I will expand on these thoughts some other time though.

As for the Constitution, it's one of the greatest documents ever written. Free speech is so important and so powerful. We're seeing what happens all over Europe without a solid free speech law in place. You can now be thrown in jail in England and many other EU countries because you hurt someone's feelings on Facebook for fuck's sake! Really it's Orwell's thoughts being enacted. It's nefarious and will only lead to civil wars.

I personally believe it is a living document, but only slightly. There are fundamental rights in it that can not and should not be amended, however as society progresses there are things the founders could not have envisioned, the internet, inter-planetary travel, etc. that may need direction if not already covered by the 27 amendments. I think the founders would have agreed that it is living and that is why they allowed it to be amended, albeit with a 2/3 congressional majority & the states' 2/3.

As for Libertarians & Ron Paul, I am very much a Libertarian, socially liberal, fiscally conservative, but not to the extremes in either case. As I said, free speech is paramount and this hate speech BS should be relegated to history. Regulation is getting out of control in California. Each year new laws are crafted by lawyers who further increase their control over daily life. And the lists go on and on.

Ok, I'll stop now, but would love to talk to others on Steemit about this. I'll be looking into Mr. Spooner & Mr. Bastiat now thanks to you. Keep these conversations going, even if your feelings get hurt.

Sort:  

Hey Ive sat wand watched many people emerge from that bubble you were in.. I love the constitution, Ron Paul is all about the constitution.. Yet as Lysander Spooner states. The constitution isn't good enough to prevent crooked politicians from reinterpreting it. Its as close as we have to a perfect document. It failed to prevent the military industrial complex, the prison industrial complex. all of the entangling alliances George Washington warned us against.. The constitution couldn't stop any of it, the shadow government JFK talked about. Bastiat taught me what a bad law was, spooner showed me how powerless the constitution really is to prevent bad laws. 150 years later Ron Paul is still bitching about all the same things haha

" full blown regressive (left)".

This is more accurate terminology. Try not to let them redefine words by using their backwards definitions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58182.09
ETH 2307.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48