Sort:  

Yes, I feel really strongly about this. That's why my introductory post was pretty much a disclaimer saying that I am going to be all over the place and that that is on purpose, because all my life I've felt like I need to be less to be understood. But I can't be less than I am, even if I try. And, man, am I tired of pretending to be less. I just want to be me. Sure, many won't get me, but maybe, just maybe some might. And to me it would hold greater value to be truly seen by few, rather than be loved for a mask by my many.

Niiiice.

A great thing about Steemit is that you really can explore and express like that, without boundaries. Whole new sets of rules here to be written, with all the freedom - and feedback - one could ask for... :-)

As an amateur writer, this helps me a lot in a way. Thanks for posting!

Nice, happy to hear it and glad to be of service. Your welcome. :-)

I feel like you do tend to be pretty consistent in your posts - in my perspective, you write longform philosophy posts that tend towards futurism, blockchain, and community engagement.

You don't need to feel imprisoned by your niche - it is merely a shortcut to understand what you and your fans are connecting about. I don't think it has to limit you - in fact, like you're saying here, sharing a multi-faceted view of yourself is healthy on the internet - but it's good to understand what a niche is.

Most successful authors do have a niche, after all, right?

Think about all your favorite artists and community members... do you associate them with a few main things? Perhaps one posts about beer and fishing, while another mostly talks about family and homesteading.

Is that so bad? Is that... evil marketing speak? lol, or perhaps it's just a natural phenomena of how we organize ourselves on the internet. Just thinking out loud here.

Love it. Appreciate the perspective and feedback... 😊🙏

Brilliant. I've been writing for 1.5 years now and these are the questions I have in my head. It seems like the words worth less and less each day when there are countless pieces of content being generated on the Internet.

Besides authenticity, I think it's important to find who you're writing for, and just write for that person. It's not about how many views, upvotes, or likes you get, it's about how you impact the life of the other person, reading what you've written on the other side of the world.

True dat. 🙌

@deanyeong
"besides authenticity, I think it's important to find who you're writing for, and just write for that person"

There, I feel better!
Great feedback!

This has been on the top of my mind so I'm glad that you wrote about it. It's helpful. There is fear of getting off on the wrong foot. I over-think planning (..and much more) - trying to apply too many "best practices". Then there's baggage brought in from previous pursuits. As you described, I've noticed that "stream of consciousness" writing is well received here. Some others excel in optimizing, having most of the packaging and appeal all together when they start. But comparison and "doing it right", from the start will distract and keep delaying me. I can't be worried about results right away and I may look back and dislike what I did. Oh well- just need to do the experience- and it may get weird at times. I hate being misunderstood more than anything but if anyone "gets it", well that's priceless.

Well-stated. 👊👌🙏

Brilliant, love the alien art...

Lol. Yeah, that’s one’s good... :-D

“Hey Billy, let’s poke this thing with a stick!”


SDG

soooo much knowledge gathered in just an article, you are indeed beautiful writer, and I have learnt a bunch from this, would practice as you have said, recognizing my weakness.

enjoyed reading that. keep up the good work:) following for more.

Cool post. No, really... cool post.

It has taken me eight months of blogging here to realize that in the 12 years since I left a very widely followed blog on Xanga (2005) starting here... the so-called "rules" of online content corrupted and disrupted my writing.

You must have a brand.
You must have a niche/expertise.
You must follow XYZ formula.

It's all bogus.

Steemit is freedom to just be ourselves. To hell with niches and expertise. Well, not exactly. Like your post here, let's use our experience and knowledge to create our own brand of free-flowing reality.

Because that's what I (for one) enjoy reading. If I need a manual on something, I'll buy one on eBay.

Your comment is appreciated. Great to know through the feedback of others that aim not just talking out of my ass and others get it too. Lol. 😊🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81