Sort:  

This post is one of the best i have read so far on Steemit. I really like how much emphasis you place on creating quality content for your readers :)

Thanks.

Yep - it's been a fundamental principle behind my success here, and the core of what makes this community worthwhile.

I agree with @cryptodan and I've said it almost half a year ago or maybe even more, Rok, you're one of the most interesting person on Steemit.

For anyone wondering why I resteemed this post and why I'll share it in private with some friends, here's some of the very best excerpt below. But the whole piece is really worth the read. I'm only sharing those excerpt so hopefully it can inspire people to read it in full.

You're awesome Rok and some of your writings are exquisitely beautiful and inspiring. I'm glad to be part of Steemit with you!

possibly chasing that next high - inevitably, there comes a point where the constant activity of fingers on the keyboard must rest. And in that silence, the heaviness of existential inquiries bears its face:

Does any of this writing really matter? Who am I to speak with any sort of authority? What difference does any of it make?

Yeah, it may get some comments from people expressing appreciation of how they've been inspired. But is that always truly genuine? Does it really make an impact and add something of value to their lives, or do they just carry on with their surfing and forget about it by the end of the day, hoping that all the votes they casted for the bunch they read will bring them enough rewards to cover tomorrow's grande soy-free machiato latte?

...

Just like any marriage or love affair, there is the duality. Sometimes, it's love at the forefront of your consciousness, wrapped in warm ecstatic joy and appreciation in the celebration of all glory. And other times, it's a consuming frustration and anger.

All the beauty, wonder, creative inspiration in the world to indulge the senses in - so much to love. And, all the struggle, wars, crime, conflict - so much to hate about mankind.

Perhaps as long as we're breathing, we'll always be stuck in this dance between the two extremes.

thanks, man. I greatly appreciate the feedback. it's rewarding & fulfilling in itself to know stuff like this is of inspiration to others...

blessings. <3

You have a great way with words, I enjoyed reading that. I think all creative types crave the approval of others, I truly believe it is part of us all. It's when you have done what you feel is your absolute very best no matter what anybody else thinks that you can say 'fuck it, take it or leave it'. Of course the financial reward plays it's part - after all if you have a skill, why not profit from it? It should not however be the primary reason to create. Do it for the love and let the occasional hate you feel fuel your further endeavours

Steem on!

Exelente post, excellent platform steemit I am really excited and I have dedicated much of my time in trying to grow in this community, a vote may not cost you anything but for me it means a lot, you follow me I tell you.
Please comment

Here is some approval, awesome post.

I started writing with the intent of reaching people and adding something to their life experience, or at least that's how it felt, but as I began to write, I discovered it was for myself as well and I tried to focus on that. I wrote for about 2 years without ever really questioning the art of writing though. I have, at times, been a heavy reader....of science fiction, but it was always about the stories and never much about the words or the process of choosing the words.

One way I have benefited from steemit is that it's got me thinking a lot more about the act of writing. It's a totally different experience. When I write my fiction, it's mainly for me. I find it a much more pure writing experience and even though I intend to show it to others, I kind of have that “fuck ya'll“ attitude. When I write directly to steemit, however, my thought process is complicated by the fact that I know it will be "evaluated" in a sense, it can be considered a success or a failure. It really sucks to pour time into something and have it worth $0.02 when you see some not so great posts worth $100+. But this has been a great learning experience, it always me to know more about my thought process and how I react to others, my own expectations and so on. It's been an interesting week!

It is indeed an interesting learning process and ongoing experiment - a cool context to play around in with the direct feedback mechanism...

@whatamidoing;

It really sucks to pour time into something and have it worth $0.02 when you see some not so great posts worth $100+.

Maybe that 2 cent post was commented on by someone who inspires and coaxes out that one tiny thought that's been struggling to escape the confines of your mind. It's great that you are learning and refining your thoughts, and maybe that person that upvoted your post has learned and been touched by your words.

Im still not at any good level of writing, but you write lovely makes me jealous as im old and not what i use to be.

Jealousy can corrode a person from the inside - or be transmuted into inspiration fuelling productive action to transform one's conditions - your choice... ;-)

The question is, does the money aspect of Steemit help or disturb from good writing or good curation. What I see so far is that one should completely forget the rules of the game to really follow them.

Perhaps both simultaneously - providing incentive to level up, while also tempting to write for rewards rather than writing alone.

And interesting thing here - its open-format, so we kinda get to write the rules as we go...

really nice title to this post. I enjoy writing every day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73