You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Born to be racist

in #writing7 years ago

Out of curiosity, what color did you imagine this person to be and where from?

Well, while reading this piece, what I was thinking about was a bit more meta. I was wondering what country and person you were imagining and writing from the point of. I anticipated some type of provocation or twist, so I was imagining all kinds of scenarios or endings.

As the first association I got was with a US white-supremacists (especially with the protecting your country on foreign soil and the gun-loving parts), I wondered what point of view this narrative could more or less work from as an antithesis and I though about Native American.

But as I try to argue in one of my recent posts - it doesn't really make a lot of sense for somebody to actually be proud of their country, race, culture and even immediate ancestry - it's just our primitive need for tribal belonging and is not really justifiable in any logical sense.

Sort:  

I agree. I actually have several ongoing posts about pride in these things but I have not finished any. It is a very immature view of the world in my opinion and limits experience, raises suffering a lot.

Looking forward to reading your take on it then :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67