You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing STEEMHOUSE PUBLISHING (or at least the idea. . . .)

in #writing7 years ago

For starters, Cheetah would be all over that like white on rice. It could potentially result in action by SteemCleaners. One of the main premises of Steemit is that account holders post only original work. The only way I know of to stay off the radar when posting a reprise is to decline payout.

I also believe that capitalizing multiple times on the same post, whether it be the same author or consecutive authors, is not only against community guidelines, but simply unethical. I imagine that’s such a practice would result in quite a few downvotes, particularly if it is an established practice.

Sort:  

Unethical for a good editor to capitalize (with upvote) on work that raises the average quality of Steemit content Vs a publishing house that paywalls the higher quality work from the very Steemit users that made it possible?

For my own work, I plan to power down to fund editing cost, and would consider it unethical if I wouldn't first repost my content in enhanced quality on Steemit before selfpublishing it on smaswords and play 6 months later. Steemit is what is enabling me to self publish a free professionally edited full sized novel. Steemit deserves to be the first platform to get the polished work. Whether or not and when I'll decline payout would depend on if my power down would end up fully covering editing costs.

Don't confuse cheetah being unable to distinguish plagiarism from high quality editing with the steemcleaers team being likely to confuse quality enhanced work that improves the platform for abuse.

You seem to be completely tied to this notion that TWB and Steemhouse Publishing would take away quality content from Steemit, and nothing could be farther from the truth. Three months ago I was lucky to find one fiction piece in ten that I could even read to the end of for all the typos, grammatical errors, misspellings, bizarre punctuation, etc. Maybe one in a hundred was actually a well-crafted short story with a complete arc, interesting characters, and the ability to engross a reader.

Today, thanks in large part to the free editing offered at The Writers Block, previously creative but sloppy writers are churning out polished, high-quality fiction that a mainstream publishing house would pay attention to. And they're posting it for free on Steemit.

You say you are about to self-publish a full-length​ novel that was all edited on steemit? Are you saying this novel has already appeared here in the blockchain? Because I don't know why anyone would pay for that when googling will bring up the same item for free. What will be the selling point? "Yes, you can read it for free on Steemit, but when I published it there it was full of typos and was only a draft copy. Now it's much better, so you should pay me money?" As a reader, I don't want to see how the sausage is made, so to speak.

I wish you much luck in​ your venture, but I think you and TWB are in different universes as far as your goals. That's not a value judgment, just​ to say you are arguing to the ​merit of apples to people growing oranges.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81