Writing Grit: Three Tips to Create Emotion in Your Writing

in #writing7 years ago

I recently wrote a book review of the novel The Break, by Katherina Vermette. I can't stop thinking about this book; Vermette infused the story with so much emotional intensity that I continue to wonder about the lives of her characters long after turning the last page. In fact, the last time I felt such a deep emotional response to a fictional novel was when I read Wally Lamb's The Hour I First Believed, which is based on the real-life events of the Columbine massacre.

Here are a few lessons I've taken from these authors and others like them on how to draw an emotional response from your readers. Spoiler alert: I may give away a few plot details in the following paragraphs. If you haven't yet read these books, but are planning to (and you should), you may want to save this post for later.

writer.jpg
Courtesy of GraphicStock.com

Keep it real

In The Break, Vermette launches the book with a traumatic, but mysterious, event; the reader is aware that something terrible has happened, but doesn't know exactly what. The details of this event -- the brutal rape of a young girl -- are released in the following chapters; however, the focus of the story isn't so much on the event itself, but on how each of the main characters experiences that event and the resulting aftermath.

Through alternating first-person narration, Vermette draws you deep into the inner thoughts and feelings of each character as they process what has happened. The emotions they must navigate through -- fear, anger, confusion, exhaustion -- are all emotions that the reader can relate to. You feel what the characters feel because you know that's how you would feel had it happened to you or someone you loved.

The trick is to find the balance. You want the character's reactions to feel real, but not too predictable. In fact, in the real world, people often don't react to situations the way you think they will. This might mean letting your character go against their nature in a stressful situation; a quiet character may rage where an aggressive character might withdraw.

However, you also want to avoid melodrama. If your character overreacts to a situation, unless the nature of the character is to overreact and that's part of your story, then you risk losing your reader's buy in. Similarly, if your character has the same reaction to different events, your reader will find it difficult to decipher which events really matter or they'll get bored, because if everything is a big deal, then nothing is a big deal.

Show, don't tell

This is the number one rule for writing, and its never more important than when trying to create emotional interest. If you tell your reader that a character is 'angry', then the reader will know your character is angry. However, if you show the anger, your reader will feel it.

For example, let's look at this excerpt from I Know This Much is True, when the main character learns his wife has been having an affair:

I paced, muttered. Sent my students' blue books flying and the dog running for cover. When I realized the cordless phone was still clenched in my hand, I whacked it fie or six times against the refrigerator door. My car keys were on the counter. I started at them for several seconds, then grabbed them.

The trucks hadn't sanded Bride Lake Road yet, but I kept mislaying the fact that the road was icy. Passing the entrance to the women's prison, I spotted oncoming headlights and hit the brakes. The fishtail I went into nearly sent me crashing into the security gate. My heart thumped. My breath came out in short blasts. I remembered who Paul Hay was.

Lamb focuses on the character's physical portrayal of emotion: pacing, muttering, clenched hands, heart thumping. In this way, you can feel the character's anger, his uncertainty, his adrenaline. You can feel that something is going to happen.

This scene also shows that dialogue isn't needed to depict emotion, although there are times when it is certainly effective. Think of the scene in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, when Cedrick Diggery's father learns his son is dead. His raw wail of "My son! My son!" is haunting.

Ebb and flow

One of the things that I enjoyed about The Break is that Vermette maintains a high level of emotional intensity throughout the book, but she does so in a way that keeps you on the edge without feeling drained. It's a bit like wading through molasses, which is how I imagine the character's must have felt trying to come to terms with trauma. They don't know if they'll get through it. They don't know how they'll get through it. All they know is that they must keep pushing forward.

However, Vermette also provides moments of relief, such as when a character is finally able to sleep after returning to her grandmother's house, or when two friends find a reason to laugh. These moments give the reader a chance to breath, as well as a sense of hope that the story will have a (somewhat) happy ending.

When determining the ebb and flow of emotion in your story, you need to consider what you want the reader to feel and when. Think of your story as a rollercoaster, with the climax as the biggest rise and fall. The emotional peaks and valleys at the beginning of the story will help build the momentum needed to carry the reader over that last steep incline. Too many, and it'll be a bumpy ride. Not enough, and they won't have the interest to make the final climb. And if there are no valleys at all, just a slow crawl to the top, you'll leave your reader feeling drained and frustrated.

asleep_reading.jpg
Courtesy of GraphicStock.com

Have you ever read a book that left you wondering about the characters long after you'd finished? Or felt a deep emotional connection to a fictional character? If so, please share.

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote, resteem and follow @redhens. You may also be interested in my other recent posts on my blog page.

Sort:  

Some do not like surprises, so they explain 'coincidence' through practical and analytical methods. Not me. I think of Fate sometimes having a hand, and maybe sometimes a mischievous imp who is in the mood to have fun by teasing me.

I was at @papa-pepper writing a comment (and asking a question). I happened to see a comment which showed a mind similar to mine in the way of thinking, so I clicked to go to her blog page. There, I found my feelings confirmed by the kind of articles I saw she had/has posted, so I clicked on follow and then chose an article to read because it is what most interests me.

And here I am!

Having looked through the subjects of your publishing, I know you will not be interested in my kind of writing, though I have a short story I should publish which is just slightly romantic that I think you might enjoy, but I also used it for the characters to teach me a lesson I needed to learn about myself and someone I have loved all my life. Hmm, okay, I'll post it tomorrow , the original short story about 'Little Cherine'.

I'd love to see that you read it and have your comment. {It is my first story ever, written about 17 years ago, but it led me to starting a novel about the same characters, which has a different basis and is more of a Fantasy novel than Science Fiction}.

Why am I telling you all this? Imagine an old man, a loner but an incurable romantic, trying to write about the life of a girl. I had to be her whenever I wrote and I would say that the one comment I have treasured above all others from a reader was when he told me he really wished he could have had a daughter just like her. Another, reader, an artist, sent me a painting of his, showing me his little daughter who had died and he told me that my story re-awoke his pain, for it was as if I have met his daughter and was describing her in more depth than he could have.

I also fell in love with her and some of the other characters, with the result that I have written the equivalent of 26,000 pages and am still writing. I've had lucid dreams about them, seeing them, sharing an adventure or two with them and so on. I really, really wish I could move to their universe.

All along, what has dominated my thinking is that it does not matter if the fantasy is believable, well thought out and so on, as much as it matters that my characters, however odd and alien, are real. Entering their world and sharing their emotions, it is what brings them to life for me - and hopefully, for my readers.

See? I finally did arrive at the point I was wanting to make. Reading articles like yours makes me feel less of a freak (I am often told by family to 'grow up' for being such an impractical romantic- lol) for still caring to depend on emotions for making my stories real.

PS: I do not see any button for 're-steeming' so I probably cannot because I'm too new? Maybe one day then.

Oh dear, I had to hit 'Edit' so as to ask, my short story, would it matter if I post it in one go, or should I split it into 4 page posts? Which would you prefer?

Well when I read "grit" the person that came to mind is James Altucher. I read his blogs once in a while and it is grit. Sometimes Im like saying "dont put that out there", but he does. Grit does keep it real.

I'll have to check him out. Do you listen to his podcast too?

No I never have tried the podcasts. I used to listen to him some when he would be on CNBC. You know there is honest writing, but then there is brutally honest lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16