You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Original Novel] Pariah of the Little People, Part 14

in #writing7 years ago

Wow. That whole monologue spoken to Tyler here really resonated with me. I've had similar experiences when arguing with people, but worse, I found that when I got overly passionate about some idea, I would actually behave in the same way.

Eventually, I came to understand that people cling to their beliefs to stave off existential terror. To try to remove those beliefs is like pulling the ground out from beneath them and leaving them floating in a dark abyss. Once I saw that, their beliefs didn't frustrate me so much, and I was less prone to fully buy into my own. I've come to trust that people will look for truth when they're ready for it and to the degree they're able to handle it, and all I can do is plant little seeds that might grow into something larger when they're ready. That's all anyone can do for me too.

I also relate to the difficulty of seeming like a crazy person when making statements based on years of thought and research, that people immediately dismiss because they can't see all the puzzle pieces that came together to make it. They think I'm talking nonsense, and all I can do is let them, because it's complex and can't be explained in the course of a short conversation. But it's still frustrating that they simply say, "No," instead of, "How did you come to that conclusion?"

Anyway, sorry for the long comment. I think this hit me so hard because my solution to these problems has been to be quiet and try to fit in. Unfortunately, this creates it's own problems, which may be even more painful in the long run. I like that this character is forging his own path in dealing with these things and trying to find a way that causes the least harm to himself and others.

Sort:  

Anyway, sorry for the long comment.

"Sorry"? On the contrary, what a rare treat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75