listen to yourself only and you will make it.

in #writing6 years ago

I was born and raised in a very traditional Bangladeshi Muslim family where Education has always been valued over any other materialistic need. And I must admit that like all other regular Bangladeshi boy , medicine was chosen for me before actually got to choose medicine . So , yes , I went into medicine because my parents wanted me to be a doctor . Fortunately later on I found this is my only passion when I started my medicine rotation in third year .

I was basically a geeky nerd all over my life in high school, college and med school. Life was mostly designed with good grades and parents’ approval lol My father served the government as a government official and mostly was absorbed by extreme workload of tedious bureaucracy. On the other hand , my mom was mostly responsible for our basic human needs .I have a younger brother who is about 10 years younger than me . He is extremely smart like one of the characters of the Big bang theory.

Anyway , things were very smooth until I joined Notre Dame college as a student of group 1 in 2006 , which changed my perspective totally . I was being judged every day for not planning to go for engineering since I was polished in group 1 to stick my life to anything related to hardcore physics and unnecessary complex math problems in which I actually got better. Biology was the paper I almost forgot to concentrate on (like any other John Doe from group 1 ) . But my passion was medicine only so I did not even think of applying to anywhere other than medicine.

image

After I got into ShSMC which is undoubtedly one of the finest medical schools of the country, I was frustrated for a long time for making the biggest mistake of my life – “Medicine” . Well, that feeling did not last too long as I started my third year medicine rotation, I found myself thinking about medicine only, and to be more precise –“internal Medicine” only.

I made my decision to pursue career in the US ( and the US only ) when I was in 12th grade at NDC .But people did not find my thought very realistic as I was just only in 12th grade so yes ,I had to plan everything by myself without involving anyone in my master plan in the beginning . I collected my materials for USMLE in third year of medical school but actually started preparing for USMLE on the day right after my final professional exam.

I finished my final professional exam in 2014 , finished all USMLE steps in 2015 and got into residency on my first try and started working as an internal Medicine Resident Physician at Cleveland Clinic Fairview Hospital , Cleveland, Ohio . Cleveland Clinic is extremely prestigious all over the world and its truly an amazing opportunity for me to be a part of this Hospital system. I am currently a second year resident of internal medicine, I plan to practice Internal Medicine mostly in in-patient or critical care settings.

Well , those days were extremely difficult for me when I was fighting my own battle of USMLE after my final prof . I was fortunate enough to have supportive parents by my side. but I think , I think, my parents would have been happier if I decided to stay home and blended the mainstream.

My advice for my juniors, do not listen to your seniors, they will mostly misguide you. listen to yourself only and you will make it.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44