I write to find out who I am.

in #writing8 years ago

Most of the time, if you give me a subject to write on, my first thought is:

"I have nothing to say about this!!!"

I panic. I fret. I move around.
It's over, the last post was my LAST post ever. I am done.

Then I sit and start typing. Free associations, ideas, thing that makes sense to me in the content and a lot of crap. Oh boy, so much crap. When I have nothing more to write. I stop.

I go make a tea. A go for walk. Maybe I'll go to the gym. The purpose is to come back with a "fresh" mind and start editing. I talked about that here. This post is not about that.

What this post is about is my wonder at how much I can write (again, much crap too :D) on subjects I would never have thought I have much to say on. The more I write the clearer it is to me what I think about this.

Where are all these thought coming from?!


Idea revealing itself, in this case, it looks pretty ripped...

It's something I wonder but also that I find beautiful.
In this, I see the wonders of writing and what it does for a person. It gives FOCUS. It's self discovery of the first kind. Sometimes, I imagine as I write, I sculpt at my thinking. At the start there's just a big lump of rock, all my opinions trapped inside. As I write, I hash at the rock until...ideas start to form clearly, to look like arguments, to be SOMETHING.

The weird thing though is how easy is to forget about that. How little confidence I usually have in the potential of my lump rock. "Oh, no, there's nothing hidden there..." I'd think. That's when I don't even start. Another opportunity sacrificed at the altar of insecurity.

FUCK THAT!

I say no more. Here's my solution:

Every Friday I'll write an article on a random subject, chosen by faith. When I'll come home at night I'll just pick one and start hashing at it. Then I'll post it here. Scary...Exciting :)

Will those all be winners? I'm sure they will be not.
Oh boy, some will be embarrassing to post maybe and I'm sure people will correct and cajole me in the comments ( no flagging please! ) but the growth opportunity it bigger than an occasional embarrassment. As I like to say:

Greatness is offered to those willing to risk ridicule.

As I write more and more and more words, sculpting my ideas and my beliefs into their true shape, I too become more ME. In a way, the words form me into my true shape as well. Does that makes any sense?!

I hope it does and I'm curious what the next Friday post will be about. But "Why Friday?" one might wonder.
I don't know. Let me write about that so I can find out :)

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Maybe you should start letting your followers choose your Friday subject, there a challenge!! ;0)

I would haha. Maybe I'll post next Thursday something about that. GOOD IDEA! :D:D:D:D:D

Here here! I 2nd that motion.

I like your thinking, love the sculpture too, why not reference it?

Love the pic up there! Says a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69