Are you sure this isn't your first draft?

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

There's a moment, right before you click "POST", when you re-read your thing and feel very proud of yourself. Reading it, laughing at your own little jokes and patting yourself on the back for the witty sentences, you might even believe that you are - depending on your inclinations - the second coming of Hemingway, Jeffrey Archer or Socrates. You are so good and the post will make SO much money.
POST.


If that's the first draft though I'm here to tell you something that might hurt.
You probably SUCK!
The post is probably WEAK!
No, you are not some genius awaiting confirmation from the steemt crowds

I know this is the moment where most of you will click the "X" and unfollow me..maybe taking a few second to leave a "fuck off" comment. But hear me out, there are good news coming!
It's not you, it's your first draft!! <---- important
@andrarchy wrote about this recently and if you need even more appeal to authority, someone famous said it best:
"“The first draft of anything is shit.
Notice that it says "anything". Just because it's a "steemit" post and not a novel, does not mean it's not shit. It's shit alright. So much shit!!! Shitty. EWW!!
That must be your attitude when you finish it.
In fact, I believe when you first push POST it should look like this:

02a8d441eae29b00bf94b9da44632403.png

Because you are not sure at all. You should be ASHAMED of your sureness. Take a fricking step back and mange your hubris.
Here's what I do.
I take a half hour break and then go back to re-read it. You know what I think?
"Who wrote this piece of SHIT!!"
And then I start to re-write and tweak stuff out.

Yeah, it takes me more to write but it's better content. I also feel that it makes me a better writer. Because the real writing magic happens in the aftermath, in the shadows not in the quick fingers running over the keyboard and "post post post"!
So, yes, admit that you are no different and get back to your post.
Then..the real work can begin :)

Sort:  

This is true - and it's funny that even though I proof read my posts before I submit them; I always have to jump in and make grammatical corrections with an edit just minutes after I post, since I always read it another time after posting.

yeah. common thing that happens waaay too often to me too

you 're funny! thank you for your provoking insights.. you just broke my dreams of being the next Hemingway but I will recover.. ;)

hey! prove me wrong

You're very right indeed.. I've read that some poets could edit their poems more than 800 times before they get it right...

It's difficult to disagree with your words @razvanelulmarin This applies also to me. I will try better from now on. Thank you for sharing this. Followed.

thank you for your kind comment!

Hello @razvanelulmarin
I am really glad I took @lexikon082 advice and read this post it was very helpful and gave me new perspective on how I post.

Followed You

@Ogochukwu

this means a lot to me!

Listen here @razvanelulmarin You can take your post and shove it up....Oh wait...this was actually pretty good advice. Thanks for helping out the community.

haha! lol that's goood :))

all my recent posts have been crappy cos of @andrarchy. "Dirt is good"!

Awesome post. I really enjoy your content Raz.

thanks a lot! appreciate it !!!

it makes sense! It is shit but it keeps us growing. :D

Hello @razvanelulmarin
I am really glad to read this post it was very helpful and gave me new perspective on how I post.

Followed You

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52