Sort:  

I totally agree, these are the things that make history so interesting. We all have a story. :D

I've dabbled in genealogy but mostly just combing over stuff on Ancestry. I did uncover some interesting things though.

@debralee If you ever want help digging further, I'm always happy to offer suggestions.

Recently I dug around and discovered websites which published local newspapers, state by state in the US and found some published info on family members. This may be something for you to look into as you really never know just what might have made the papers. :)

Thanks so much, that is very generous.

You really never do know what makes the papers. I'd love to know the name of some of those sites. :D

Ancestry gave me two shocks. We are related to the Dalton Gang and Pocahontas. Talk about being on different ends of the scale! lol

I have Pocahontas in my tree in as much as that her line relates by marriage at some point. I've found that while researching you absorb a lot more interesting snippets of history than if just reading a book. It feels more signifciant if you can relate to it on a personal level.

Here is the newspaper site, have a good dig around. Not all areas will be covered so it really depends on what has been scanned in the area/s you're searching. Let me know if you have success! http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

That is awesome, we could be really distantly related. :D You really do absorb more when you find out its your heritage.

I am happy to say I learned not all of the Dalton's were so bad. lol

Thank you so much!!

Next step - DNA testing lol

I've thought about it. I already know I am a mixed breed, Might as well know if what I've been told is accurate. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69