When I can write the most

in #writing7 years ago

StockSnap_3CGG5SQFZJ.jpg

A desire almost every writer has is being able to write as much as he wants without ever running out of ideas. The writer's block is like a proof that it's almost impossible to achieve that desire, and while there are ways to boost your inspiration and always have something to say, there are days when you're simply not happy with your work and you can't write anything good.

The way I manage to stay inspired, and most importantly, the way I manage to have days when I can write a lot even tho I don't really have a lot of ideas when I wake up, is pretty simple - I sit in front of my computer, with a coup of coffee and maybe a snack, and I just read.

I go on Medium and Steemit, I pick between 5 to 10 articles that seem interesting and I just start reading. After I'm done it's unlikely I won't have at least one idea for an article. Even if I don't, it's a lot easier to get one since I have a lot of fresh information in my mind.

That helps me always have something to say about certain subjects and it also keeps me informed and/or educated about certain things. I find news that are more or less important, like huge changes in the cryptocurrency market and the changes in prices, learn new things about topics I didn't even think about in the past and I'm also having a good time doing something I like.

But it's not all about reading. You can spend years reading book after book and you'll still not be a writer. You need to write because reading is not gonna get you everything you want, and unless you're capable to put words on paper in a great way, you're not gonna achieve much as a writer.

The question is, how can you write if you have no ideas no matter how much you read? There are days when you just can't write. You read, you try to find some inspiration, you talk to a few people hoping to find an interesting subject, and nothing works. What do you do then?

Well, what I do that often helps, is this - I open the text editor or software I'm using to write (in my case, Evernote) then I create a new file and I just write. It doesn't matter what. I don't need an idea. I just write about the first thing that comes into my mind no matter how good or how bad it is.

If I don't have anything in mind at the moment I'll just write about how much it sucks to not have any idea for an article. I'll spend around 10 minutes just putting words on my document and expecting nothing good in return.

When I'm done, my brain will usually be in the mood for writing and I'll be able to come up with decent topics fairly fast. Plus, it's gonna be a lot easier to type everything because I had a little bit of practice before.

It's all about writing, even if you don't know what to write. Just put words on paper, type and let your brain get used to the idea that you're gonna have to come up with an interesting article or story. Do that for a few minutes and you'll see how easy it's gonna be to actually find a good topic after that. Combine that with writing and you're gonna get more ideas than you'll need.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72