Create multiple sources of income

in #writing7 years ago

pexels-photo-164474.jpeg

I mentioned this multiple times, but when I was 16 years old I was in need for money, and since there was no place I could've worked at, I decided to start my own YouTube channel focused on promoting music from artists that weren't as known as others.

In around 6 months I got somewhere close to 5,000 subscribers, and I was making $100-$200 a month while being in high school. That helped me pay for all the things I needed without having to ask my parents for money and without having to make them pay for things that I needed.

I kept doing YouTube for around 2 more years, and the payment I was receiving every single month was lower and lower. From $100 - $200 a month I got to $50 - $80 a month, and later I was getting even less than that. I still worked on my videos even tho I wasn't receiving as much money as I wanted.

However, a few months later I decided to quit YouTube completely, because it wasn't worth spending hours creating videos for such low amounts of money. I wanted to do something different, so I deleted my channel and I started working on graphic design packages and upload them to Graphic River and Creative Market.

The downside of this was that because YouTube was my main source of income for a long period of time, I got lazy, and I refused to work on other things and learn new skills. Because of that, when my YouTube channel was gone, I had no other source of income and for a few months I didn't receive any money.

It was horrible, and I was really stressed. I had to create another source of income fast, because without it I would've been in big trouble, especially with my parents. So I started working as much as possible sometimes even for 12 hours a day to create design packages and upload them to Graphic River and Creative Market.

In around 4 months I got in a comfortable position again, making some money from those two websites. The lesson I learned from this experience is that only one source of income is never a good idea, because it can always go away and you may be left with nothing.

So, the best thing you can do is work on multiple projects, learn new things, and make sure you have multiple sources of income, just in case something bad happens.

For example, right now, my main sources of income are Graphic River and Steemit. Creative Market is not one of them any more, because I don't have time to upload anything on that website too, but once I get a better computer I will start working on more design packages, and that will allow me to upload more to Creative Market once again. That would mean I'll have 3 different sources of income.

Having at least two sources of income won't only get you higher amounts of money, but it will also bring security into your life. It's really great knowing that no matter what happens, you have two sources of income, and if one goes away, you still have the other one. I think this is even safer than having a normal job.

And even if you have a normal job, it's always a great idea to do something else in your spare time. The possibilities are infinite, so you have no excuse for not receiving money from all kind of places. You can learn graphic design, web design, programming, writing, blogging, you can sell e-books on Amazon or all kind of websites, you can have a YouTube channel, you can create products and sell them online, and much more.

Working on some of those things will allow you to receive money from different sources, and that will help you be safe in case something happens if you lose your normal job.

Don't wait to be in a position similar to the one I was in a year ago. Make sure you work really hard and make sure you keep your income safe. It's always better to work for 3 or 4 more hours every day, and receive money from 3 different sources, than to focus on other things and lose your only source of income.

Sort:  

and always look for opportunities to apply your skills(especially if they are less usual ones) to your existing projects/jobs. I used to build bots and scrapers for online web games just for fun and now at my current job one of the main selling points of our new platform is the automated way in which we adjust product inventory and price... based on data from bots and scrapers :)

Glad to hear you managed to use that skill to get a job, and you are completely right, most of the things we're good at can get us a job, or can get us some kind of income, if we learn how to create products with them and how to be useful to other people.

Thanks for the comment :)

Thank you very much! :)

Very true while we are young do as much as you can especially if you are multi talented. Upvoted followed and resteemed !
Follow my @ch00fy

Thank you very much for your comment and for the upvote :)

Great
One should never rely on single source of income.
upvoted (Y)

You are right, thanks for the comment and for the upvote :)

Dollar plantation .😉😉😉😉

The kind of plantation everyone would love to have :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43