Pale White Frost: A Poem

in #writing8 years ago


Pale white frost,

Freezing morning dew.

Haze forming fog,

Glistens in the morning star.

Cloud lifts to the pale blue.

I awake with curses,

Indeed, a day anew.

A usual routine 'round and around...

I walk along these streets of gold.

In your absence, 

A spring afternoon runs cold.

As my shadow begins to fade away,

I long for your doting gaze.

Whilst the day turns jaunty and blithe...

Oh! How melancholy be the night!

The desire makes my soul affright!


In the darkest eve, 

I lie alone.

Carnal thoughts await my throne.

One last thought before I rest:

My cyclical paradise, 

Life at its best.

___________________________________________________________________

Picture Source: Sigurdas

I originally wrote this poem in 2006, although I have revised it several times.  It describes the ups and downs of a winter's love gone cold - and how wonderful life can be, even in the midst of trouble.  Thanks for reading!


Sort:  

It's been like 100 degrees and humid here the last few days.... freezing winter sounds great at the moment. Also... thumbs up for your username lol

HA! Yeah, I was thinking that I had the seasons all wrong! Come early spring, we'll be craving these dog days!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53