My Open Letter To Datsik

in #writing6 years ago

letter_datsik-web.png

Troy, you really fucked this one up, man. I mean, how could you?

I didn't want to believe it…I really didn't. It took me a while to finally come to terms with it and accept it: You are a sexual abuser. You've got no respect for women. You abused your power and took advantage of the women who are accusing you of sexual misconduct. Thing is, this is more than misconduct, it's downright abuse. Shame on you!

All the evidence is out there. I looked at it closely - with a clear, objective mind - and it doesn't look good for you. You're completely fucked. There's a lot of consistency in these stories. That, right there, is the key to proving whether or not someone is guilty of sexual misconduct. The patterns (the accounts, evidence, claims, etc.) are very consistent. It is very clear. To top it all off, no one has changed or retracted their story. You're guilty as charged. (And lets not forget about that song you made several years ago. Remember "Too Late To Say No"? And those tweets…)

I am beyond disappointed in you. You really let me down. I feel like you betrayed and defrauded me. This past weekend was an antagonizing living hell for me, as I tried to come to terms with what just happened - and the fact that you're not the person I thought you were this whole time. This was hell, not just for me, but also for your fans (of which I'm one…or at least I still think I am), your peers (If which I'm also one), the EDM and Bass Music scenes, your label and everyone involved in it (management, artists, etc.), and of course, the innocent young women you took advantage of and betrayed. You really let a lot of people down. It really hurts to know that someone you thought you knew and could trust is in reality a giant scumbag.

In the statement you made following the revelations made about you, you said that you're "a sensitive dude". Well guess what, Troy. So am I. Why else do you think that Thursday night all the way 'till Sunday was so torturous for me? I'm sorry to say this but, you really fucked up that statement too. You said some questionable things like: "I am a vibe reader, I hang out with a ton of people after every show,…", "This type of shit is detrimental to my persona…", and "I will make a bigger effort to make sure that nothing I do will be misinterpreted in the future". These statements only make you look more guilty. On top of that, they make you look arrogant, insensitive, and selfish. You didn't even care to explain yourself or apologize.

In a recent tweet you said, "Man I honestly believe that I'm a good person. I'm trying my best but this just broke me". Well, try harder! You can start by 1) taking responsibility for your own damn actions, 2) fully explaining yourself, and 3) apologizing to everyone you've hurt and let down. Then, get yourself a good therapist. There's clearly something seriously wrong with you, Troy. You need help. Normal people don't do this shit. Perhaps something happened to you growing up that made you act this way. If there is, then speak up (this goes back to what I said earlier about explaining yourself). It’s the least you could do (along with a sincere apology). The reason I say that is because when people act this way, it's usually because they're trying to suppress some trauma that happened very early in their lives. Perhaps you yourself were the victim of sexual abuse, or maybe you witnessed someone you love and care about be sexually abused. Whatever it is that's been bugging you this whole time, you need to take care of it…and you need to speak up. Bottling things up doesn't do shit. It only leads to unhappiness and a path to self-sabotage…I mean, just look at what just happened to you. Your career ended in just 24 hours!

I don't hate you, but you certainly have lost my respect. I really looked up to you - as did many others. I really wanted to have the opportunity of one day meeting you and collaborating together. You were one of the first Dubstep/Bass Music/EDM/Electronic Music artists I ever listened to and grew to love (this was back in 2012). You went on to inspire & influence me. Now, its all gone. It all went up in flames in a ranging inferno. There's nothing left now but ashes. It was like a massive wildfire just ravaged my town, destroying everything in its path.

I really hope you take the time to think about what you did. I really hope you see all the damage you've just done. But at the same time, I really hope you get the help you need and find piece and meaning in your life.

Peace out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55