Giving Thanks for the good times - Thanksgiving Goodbyes

in #writing7 years ago

Since some 30% of the traffic to Steemit.com come from the US, I guess the Thanksgiving holiday will be a little bit quieter with lots of people spending time with their family and friends.

For those of us that don't celebrate the occasion, I wanted to reflect on some of the recent posts I have read and why I think it is more important than ever to start giving thanks and show our appreciation to the people here on Steemit.

When I wrote my post celebrating the milestone of reaching 100 followers I was still very much new to the platform. I didn't care about the bots or self-voting because I came from the consulting world where you get rewarded for looking after yourself and making a living from the perception of being useful (fake it and you make it, that it being $). I was looking forward to celebrating getting to 200 followers, but in that time I noticed a few things:

  • I stopped reading #introduceyourself posts because it was obvious that bots paid more attention to them than most people.
  • I read many #thankyou and #goodbye posts because of the issues that have continued to plague steemit without long term solutions (SMT will not solve the problems, good people will)
  • I branched out very deep into different parts of steemit and realized that attracting new followings and users must start with treating existing creators and contributors better

I won't clutter this post with many of the ideas and suggestions I proposed - I don't have enough clout to get heard or enough smarts to implement these ideas effectively, but I want to spend this time writing some nice words about people that have made a difference to me on this platform. As someone who doesn't actually celebrate Christmas or birthdays (I believe in doing something nice when the time is right and not wait for the 'right' occasion), I have chosen as a non-US citizen to give my thanks on Thanksgiving to (in no particular order):

  • @marty-arts - your beautiful watercolours and glassworks is something I always look foward to; I love the details in your animals and the time you take to show all the process and steps involved. You also contribute to the community in different ways by participating in contests and promoting other good artists. I feel lucky that you were one of the first people I discovered on steemit and hopefully one day I might give watercolour painting a go :)
  • @jungwatercolour - your watercolor portraits are full of soul and so expressive, and you really support other artists on steemit because I always see you resteeming other people's post when you could be posting and promoting more of your own content; the fact that it is even more difficult to make a living as an artist where you are from makes you an inspiration to me in many ways!
  • @vermillionfox - I enjoy your writing and artworks because you are very honest with your feelings and you are also very active in the community; whether it is a quick sketch or a longer piece of artwork (which sometimes starts out as a quick sketch), the feelings and emotions in the characters are always the focus and highlight of your drawings.
  • @edward-maesen - I enjoy our discussions and your very frequent comments on my various posts. Your photography (especially the B&W ones) with models is very unique and your style respects their individuality while also making the viewer connect with them emotionally; I know that you don't get the views or upvotes that you probably could if you played the game better, but I think we have a long term future here and I hope we can keep encouraging each other.
  • @karenmckersie - I am not much of a cook so unfortunately I miss out a lot with your cooking posts, but everything else you do on steemit brings joy and positive energy to me and so many people here; I couldn't do justice to the work that you do and how #popcontest exemplifies your nurturing and caring spirit!
  • @paulag - I hope that the things I am doing for #bisteemit shows how much I admire your tireless work and the dedication that you have put into this team, words can't say what your encouragement and support means to me, but I hope the data of my activities on the steemit blockchain can :D
  • @carrieallen - you are my other go-to person on a bad day on steemit, so full of positive energy and another tireless contributor on steemit; the writing contests are not always easy but definitely enjoyable, even for someone like me who prefers #infographics; along with @chrisroberts you make up an adorable power couple on steemit and I shall have to write a post on the subject unless you beat me to it :)
  • @mihail.tsvetkov - we haven't crossed paths as often as we might have liked (sorry but I only played WarCraft and stopped before WoW became popular), but synchronism will take care of that for us :) I like reading your writing for something calm and soothing to the mind+soul, and hope that you might do a numerology readying for some of the wonderful people that I have listed here too!
  • @choogirl - thank you for welcoming me into #teamaustralia and introducing me to a wonderful bunch of people on steemit, and showing that no matter how far or wide we go in the world (or steemit) that we can still call Australia home :) You are an inspiration to an aspiring digital nomad such as myself, and I hope your travels and @steemitworldmap will bring steemians everywhere closer!
  • @elear & @fabien - as a UX designer, I am glad that I found utopian.io very early on and was able to provide some contribution to what is now a fantastic initiative that involves and impacts so many steemians; it really helped me to find a niche right at the beginning and gave me the confidence to do more; I do have to point out that most of the SBD in my wallet seems to come from the utopian.io posts, but I would have happily contributed for nothing (or a lot less) because I know everything that happens over there benefits so many people :)
  • @ausbitbank - for flying the flag as our Aussie ambassador on steemit and the important work that you do for the platform.

I do happen to follow a lot more people on steemit than there are people following me, which is a good thing because there are so many great people that I want to meet on steemit, but also a bad thing because I should be spending time doing more posts myself and get my reputation and voting power up. However, if I have been spending all my time trying to get my reputation and bank balance higher than what I really need them to be then I wouldn't be here on steemit.

I am sorry that I didn't get around to writing and thanking more of you here, but I wish you all have a safe and happy thanksgiving today and everyday!

Sort:  

You have such a wonderful soul. And I am thankful that through some unknown power, I was able to find you and follow your blogs. There are no coincidences there are always synchronism;) I think if I said anything else, this third party of ours will have sit me down and list all the reasons why its synchronism. I've enjoy scrolling through all your blogs and reading your posts. Happy thanksgiving everyday to you too. Wishing you all the best in life and on the platform.

@kanoe - thank you so much for your kind comments. Looking through your posts I can see that there are some interesting and yet undiscovered underlying connections, and it is a great motivation for me to continue exploring the wonderful and mysterious place that is steemit! I hope in time we will get to know each other better :) If there's anything I can do to make this journey more interesting and enjoyable for you please don't hesitate to ask. I hope you can also get to know some of the great people here and more.

I'm definitely looking forward to it. and yes as Im just starting to branch out and begin unraveling the tips of Steemit, I am coming across so many Interesting people that swift and changes our lives unknowingly. I will definitely look at these people you have mention.

I think you will be surprised when you find it :) . Thank you @plushzilla I really like exchanging ideas and energies with you are a good frend of mine. Thank you for puting me in your thanksgiving list of people for me it is honour to be there. If some one what to have fun with numerology. Lets do some Numerology for fun.

I still don't know if there is a way to get notified of @-mentions so ... what a pleasant surprise to see my name when I read your post :)
Thank you for your kind words, and you're right - I don't know how to play the game here, nor do I really desire to do that.
Thank you for the interactions we have here!

@edward.maesen - too often we suffer from the 'pasture is greener on the other side' syndrome and so in searching for something we lose sight of what is good and important in front of us. I realized that in increasing the number of followers there is a burden to maintain and cultivate the relationships, but how realistic is it to be able to do that for not only the people that follow us and those we follow. Perhaps I need to write these posts to remind myself that it is not something to be taken for granted. Let's keep those conversations we having going :)

It's easy to get carried away by the illusory prospect of fortune and fame... I hope to remain firmly planted in solid ground ;)

Thank you so much for the mention @plushzilla ! And for guest judging my #popcontest #15 this week , don't forget to let me know your favorites in steemit chat private messaging on SATURDAY night ! Thanks !!
This is a great post with a lot of awesome mentions that I will try to find time to check some out ! Thanks for sharing , upped and resteemed ! Keep up the great work , I love your writing , its much better then mine my friend ! 👍👍👍💕💕💕

@karenmckersie - we all have our different ways of communicating with others and expressing ourselves. I am still working on being more succinct and writing in 'plain English' because this is a diverse community of people and I love the variety of ways that people express themselves. I personally enjoy the energy and enthusiasm of your posts, whether it is through the words and/or emojicon (is that what they are called, or bitmoji?). It's a shame that I couldn't fit more people in and that I haven't connected with more people, but just give me more time :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Nice one @plushzilla... Happy Thanksgiving! Resteemed and upvoted 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81