You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Tech-'NO'-Topia: Imagining Our Future Paradise! A "DeepThink" Challenge

in #writing7 years ago

This is a great vision for the future. I foresee that you and I will not be fighting each other's intentions for the future. There's just one small thing to clarify: how do you define 'perfect?' XD

In all seriousness, I think you have a lot to offer towards an optimistic utopian future. There's just a slight hint of a fallacy that might be hindering your judgement. I sense that you might be victim to the naturalistic fallacy in some of your thinking.

Future me: "Giskard! Why are you eating that human?"
My robot, Giskard: "It has electrolytes."

It's important to remember that being natural doesn't really point us in a direction of understanding what is healthy. I second some of Alex's points in that there seems to be a dislike of science and a love of science in the same breath.

Perhaps I'm just not understanding your meaning, but it also seems like you might not understand how genetics work exactly. Did you suggest we make cannibal fruit, or were you thinking just along the lines of ensuring that we only alter genes before conception?

Is CRISPR something you are objecting to? Cause that's some crazy shit we got there. Would you deny fiber optics in the brain just to never change the gene sequence of an individual cell? (Optogenetics is the shiznit btw).

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41