Visionaries --A True Tale of Religion and Mystery #11

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is the story of an event that happened in a catholic school in Nigeria, events which I witnessed and was a part of, and which have never been resolved till date. Names have been changed, but the tale is true, and told as I remember it.

Click for
Part 1

Part 10

DQmPwzYfJjmRwfsrfceeH54qsDiGTWHiA8nmnqD4AunJ1wc_1680x8400.jpg

I went to the classroom, got my novel from my desk, and returned to the dormitory. My plan was to read a few chapters, take a little nap, then get up and play some sports, so once I got there I lay down and relaxed. The novel was an old C.S. Lewis I had gotten out of the library earlier, and though the writing style was far from modern, I was enjoying it very much. I had already read his entire Narnia series, and I really admired the way with which he told such interesting tales woven through with religious and moral meanings. I was an aspiring writer myself, though both my style and genre were very different from Lewis'. Still, I hoped they would have some real, positive impact someday.

Suddenly, it clicked.

My breath caught in my throat and I sat up sharply. My eyes were wide with excitement.

Of course! That was it! This was my purpose – to put into writing all that was happening now, and ensure the records saw the light of day. It was a task only I could accomplish. Only I had enough influence to get the accounts from those involved – people like Igwe and Miko – and the writing skills required. It didn’t matter if the visions were real or fake, divine or not. I would write the account of everything I had seen and heard, and everything that would occur before it came to an end. If they turned out to be true, history would need an accurate record. If not, it would make a great story, with many lessons and topics up for debate.

I was ecstatic at my epiphany. Trembling with excitement, I quickly opened my locker and got out one of my fresh notebooks. I couldn’t find a pen so I settled for a pencil, flipped to the first page and, in large stylish letters, wrote: ‘Visionaries, a true tale of Religion and Mystery', and designed some flowers by the side.

I looked down at the work and beamed. I had begun.

I had flipped to the next page, ready to start the story when two of my dormitory boys suddenly entered, chatting excitedly. I caught a snippet of their conversation and jerked up from my bunk.

“Hey!” I called. They turned around at once, startled – they hadn’t known I was in. Their eyes were shining. “What did you just say?” I demanded.

They glanced at themselves before replying. “It’s Igwe Stephen,” they said. “He’s with some people, helping them see visions.”

“Right now?” I asked.

They nodded fervently.

“Where are they?” I inquired.

They glanced at themselves again, then replied hesitantly, “In the S.S.3 class. Some S.S.1 boys were with him.”

I knew what this was –an opportunity to witness a vision-seeing for myself. It seemed providential that this was coming just a few minutes after I'd had my epiphany. It was a call to action. My duty – to witness and record. I would not waste this chance.

I grabbed the notebook and pencil, and hurried out.


Click Here for Visionaries #12

If you liked the story, don't forget to leave an UPVOTE! Comments are welcome, and RESTEEMS will be highly appreciated!
Follow me @petermarie

Sort:  

I can relate with the ecstasy of the epiphany of the witness from the rather perplexed 'observer' as such is the euphoria that accompanies the realization of purpose.........Will the witness be more definite on his account? and has his doubts been cleared from the transition?... I am waiting to hear from the Witness the account of the tales of the visionaries.
Great job @petermarie

Thanks @toeney! It's always good hearing from you. The Witness has a lot to experience... Just stay tuned 😉😀

I'm glued already.......... 😁😁😁

Wonderful post ..Best of luck friend ✫

Transfer 0.200 to 6 SBD/ steem to @mrbean1 and put the link of your post in the public memo you get 50 to 500 UPVOT and resteem by @mrbean1 +followers

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

@greentomorrow did not give you an upvote and has made this exact same comment hundreds of times.

Click the flag to downvote this @greentomorrow comment!

greentomorrow.png

Here are a few ways to support @duplibot and help reduce spam and superfluous comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62750.78
ETH 2444.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66