You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thought Bubble Thursdays #5 - Nobody Stays Dead in the Comics

in #writing7 years ago

I could kinda understand Barry Allen's comeback.... because he really didn't die, just became a puff of energy in the speed-force... but as I was a huge Wally West fan, I felt a bit disappointed Barry was brought back (and he wasn't that nice a guy, from memory). Ironically, that's about the time I stopped reading The Flash.

I started reading X-Men when Professor X came back from the dead... except he hadn't been dead, he'd been in the Shiar Empire. That was cool.

I was SOOOO glad they killed Superman. I still have that issue in the original black plastic sealed sleeve. I can't stand him. But they brought him back... WTAF?!?

AND - I also couldn't believe they brought Jason Todd back. That was shite. And I'm sure The Joker has been resurrected several times - remember Batman shot him several times as his chopper crashed into the water....

I was bummed to hear they killed off Logan...

And don't forget Jean Grey/Phoenix..... that's gotta be the resurrection to end all resurrections.

Great article.

Sort:  

Oh man, we share the same sentiment! I grew up with Wally West, so having Barry back was a bittersweet moment for me. On one hand, I thought he was going to play more of a mentor role, but considering he hasn't aged a day when he returned, he's still under the mindset that he's The Flash. Even though Barry is almost synonymous with the Speed Force, I feel like Wally has always had a greater connection to it.

Haha! Have you heard about Professor X's latest resurrection? Man oh man, for a symbol that mutants rally behind, he just doesn't know when to quit.

I'm on the same boat with regard to Superman! I really hate him as a character. Dying was the best thing that happened to him IMO. But then they backtracked and had him live out to this day. Not only that, they pushed the reset button on his character after Flashpoint, but when people couldn't stand the new character, they killed it off and brought back the previous Superman.

Jason Todd, I don't mind so much, to be honest. He had quite the long absence, and his return made for a compelling dynamic. He's mostly on the outskirts now, but when he came back to prominence, he really had his uses. As for the Joker, there's no definitive explanation yet, but... SPOILER ALERT there are three Jokers roaming around. And, at least one of them drinks from a pool of pure Dionesium (which is an even more pure version of the Lazarus Pit) to revive himself. I'm interested to see how they would go about with that revelation.

Turn that frown upside down, because that ol' Canucklehead is back from the dead, with the Space Infinity Gem to boot! As to how, we have yet to know. As to why, most probably sales.

You know, I was supposed to do the whole section on Jean Grey/Phoenix, but I found it ironic that they kept her shelved for so long, considering the Phoenix is a symbol for resurrection. I have yet to finish reading her latest return so the jury's still out. I've heard from the grapevine that she's bringing every dead mutant back with her! Well, maybe not all of them, but she's rumored to be bringing back the more prominent ones.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving those wonderful thoughts! Sorry I got back to it so late, as I've been catching up on a lot of things I've missed.

That's part of the reason I don't think I can go back to reading these titles.... so much has changed since then, I think I would get very very confused.

They've been introducing initiatives to help new readers get caught up with everything, so that even though the number of issues are already high, it feels like they're reading fresh stories without needing to go back to the archives. But yeah, I get how you feel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66