My Favorite Pocket Knives part 2: 1975 CaseXX USA Whittler

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This one is pretty old. It's from 1975 My pappaw gave it to me one year for Christmas in a crown royal bag full of knives. This is my favorite of the bunch. I don't really carry this knife. It's too pretty I think. It's everything Case ever did right to me. It's solidly built. The shield is pinned on instead of glued like most are today. No half stops on the blade and snaps like a dragon. I need a coin to open it. The blades are carbon steel so they do get really sharp. This knife lives up to it's name cause it sure can whittle.

There's a lot of debate among knife collectors of what constitutes a whittler. Other makers would market pen knives as whittlers and half whittlers. I'm going to try to explain how this whittler makes it a true one in my eyes. it's in the back springs. There are 2 acting on the larger blade and it widens down to the smaller blades. one spring acts on the pen blade and the other acts on the smaller clip blade.

Case knives are easy to identify and date. The way case dated their knives in the 70's is easy to get. In 1970 the blades were stamped Case XX USA with 10 dots. each year they remove a dot. so 9 dots is 1971 and on down the line. this one has 5 dots dating it 1975. Another cool thing that Case did was put pattern numbers on their knives. This knife is a 6308 which is printed on the tang stamp. the first number is the handle material. this one is bone. 3 is the number of blades. 08 is the pattern number a whittler.

IMG_E3367.JPG
IMG_3374.JPG
IMG_3368.JPG
IMG_3369.JPG
IMG_3372.JPG
IMG_3376.JPG
IMG_E3373.JPG
IMG_3375.JPG

Sort:  

I'm pretty sure I used to have or maybe still have nearly this same exact knife. It was either from my dad or grandpa. Solid!

Also, this is probably the best album cover I've ever seen in my entire life.

I rememebr you used to have a real old 1 blade folding hunter. I think that was you atleast.

I still have that one, it's a fucking monster.

Send me pics of the tang stamp and I can tell you how old it is.

i want a tang stamp

IDK where you would get that tattooed on you! CASE XX

I'll see if I can dig it up when I get home tonight!

Sharp! Do you know anything about kitchen knives, i need suggestions on a good one.

Old hickory look that brand up. very cheap, carbon steel and USA made

Thanks for introducing about your knife.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65