You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writer's Block Doesn't Exist

in #writing7 years ago

Hey Phil, thanks for putting this up. Not sure that writing will be "effortless" with research, but it's certainly easier to write when you know what you're talking about. I like this view point of just putting in the work. At the end of the day, there are very few problems that extended "deep work" can't solve. Keep on writin'!

Sort:  

Well, writing is effortless. Research isn't.

At this point in time, 80-90% of the work I do is research, with only 10-20% of it being actually writing and editing.

Compared to writing and looking things up on the fly, and then correcting the content, I'm saving literal hours on a daily basis.

I'd bet we're arguing semantics here more than anything. I mean, I like writing a lot, it's easy and fun, but it also has an energy cost for me so can't be truly "effortless". Totally agree that research is work that's worth it, even the (vast majority) stuff you don't use. Dig it!

I'm not sure we're arguing semantics. I use speech recognition, so writing is literally as easy as just talking to my computer. I'd call that effortless.

Then I do editing using HemingwayApp (if I'm not writing for a client), or outsource to an editor.

Typing is a chore.

Fair enough, you've got an easier way of doing it than I do! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15