English Language Editing Services Offered - Let Me Help Improve the English Portions of Your Blog Posts!

in #writing7 years ago

My wife took this picture of me outside a store in Washington, DC, USA. I am the one on your right.
Me and Indian.jpg

I have discovered a need on Steemit, and I think I can help to meet that need. I have noticed that many who don’t speak English as a native language struggle for correct English usage in their posts. Even some native English speakers could use some help! I can assist by providing English language editing services. You may contact me by email at [email protected].

To demonstrate what I mean, here is my edit of one sentence taken from a recent blog post by another Steemer. I have also included comments explaining why I think my edit is better.

Please don’t try to figure out who wrote this sentence in her blog. She is a very sweet person, and it is not my intent to embarrass her.

What the blogger wrote:
“Welcome to my post and hope you are doing good today!”

My suggested replacement:
“Welcome to my post! I hope you are doing well today!”

My comments:

First of all, let’s talk about “good” versus “well.” In this sentence, “good” modifies the verb “doing.” The problem is that “good” is an adjective and should modify a noun. To modify a verb, you need an adverb. “Well” is an adverb. Here is an example of how to use the two words correctly: “That’s a good job! You are doing well!”

Now, about the sentence structure:

This sentence includes two separate ideas:
1: “Welcome to my post,”
2: “I hope you are doing well today.”

First, let’s look at “Welcome to my post.” This sentence is acceptable in common usage, but it is important to realize that a couple of words are implied, and not actually printed out. The writer is actually saying: “I welcome you to my post.” The subject of the sentence, “I,” is only implied.

The implied subject, “I,” also applies to the second part of the line, as in “I hope you are doing well today.” The problem is that, for the second part of the line, the use of the implied subject doesn’t really work, and the line ends up sounding clumsy.

The writer could have said: “I welcome you to my post and hope that you are doing well today!” or “I welcome you to my post, and I hope you are doing well today!” I prefer to break the two ideas into two separate sentences: “Welcome to my post! I hope you are doing well today!” That’s short, sweet, simple, and understandable.

If you could use my assistance with editing the English language portions of your blogs, I will be glad to help. Just send me the text for which you would like suggestions to [email protected].

But there’s a catch: I can’t really afford to do much of this for free. I need to start making a better online income, and I don’t really have much time that I can afford to give to this project without reimbursement.

On the other hand, I don’t really know how to charge for my services just yet. Here’s what I have come up with: Strictly as an introductory offer, for a limited time only, I will provide my editing services to you and let you decide how much to pay me after you see the results. You can transfer STEEM or SBD to my account. If you are a poor minnow like me, and can’t pay me with STEEM or SBD, then just help me get more work by posting favorable reviews, comments, likes, links, resteems, etc. I will not require it for now, but a notice at the bottom of your blog post something like “English language editing by OsoPapa, email [email protected] ” would be helpful whether or not you are reimbursing me with STEEM or SBD.

Please be aware, however, that for future editing requests, I will consider how well you have compensated me in the past, given your relative ability to pay. But also know that, if you help me get started, I can be very loyal.

I can give you suggested edits without comments or explanations somewhat easily. If you want the comments, as illustrated above, that takes much more time, and the compensation should consider my investment of time. On the other hand, you will learn correct English usage much more quickly if you have the comments. Maybe we could set up a Skype conference or something so that we could discuss the reasons for the edits in real time so that it won’t take so much time for me to write them out. That might be more efficient for both of us.

In closing, I want to provide this disclaimer: I am not a professor of the English language. I was not even an English major in college. I will not promise that my suggested edits will always be 100% technically correct. Nobody could do that anyway: Even college professors sometimes disagree on the fine points of the language. I do have a lot of experience, however, in writing professionally under the supervision of some very tough editors! I am confident that my work product will stand on its own merits.

Please contact me at [email protected]. If you will send me the text for which you would like to have suggested edits, I will try to get them back to you as soon as I can, hopefully within no more than 24 hours.
Thank you for reading my Blog post. Don't forget to follow me and like, reply, and resteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76