You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes From An Amateur Writer #40 - Read, Write and Face the Future

in #writing7 years ago

I read both of these:
The Handmaid's Tale - Margaret Atwood
The Man in the High Castle - Philip K Dick

...years ago and really, really appreciated them. They have both been made into series. I got through The Handmaid's Tale, but couldn't get into The Man in the High Castle. Books are always better.

Sort:  

I've previously read The Man In The High Castle, and loved it. It was many years ago, and having watched the TV series wanted to read it again. The TV show does go into far more detail, and I want to see if I can notice what other differences they wrote into.

The TV series of the Handmaid's Tale really grabbed me. This is where my interest in the book came from. The story is so intriguing.

As always, the book is better. :)

That is usually the case. Sometimes I come across a film that matches the book (rarely betters it). Bladerunner was one. The book (Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep) was brilliant and is one of my favourites, but the film made enough changes to it to be considered its own story, and just based on the book. And I like both of those equally.

But in the vast majority of the time the book beats the film.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70