Sort:  

The God of the Seas fell in love with a beautiful Maiden sailing across the Gulf. The Maiden was promised to a king of a foreign land, a marriage of political value purely.

- How will I make her mine?, he thought... I should threaten to sink this ship and drown all the crew, send the wedding gifts deep in my chest of treasures and keep this woman for myself, for all eternity. She will be my Queen. I will be her King. If she says no I will just kill everyone on board!

On that night the Maiden couldn't sleep. She was on deck, looking at the dark sky all decorated with sparkly spots, stars they were called. The waters were calm and she felt relaxed despite her anxiety about the upcoming wedding.
All of a sudden the ship rocked violently and a huge water sprout popped up in front of her surprised eyes.

- Oh Gods, we are going to die! she yelled.

As white as a sheet she turned and there he saw the mighty God of the Seas in front of her, tall and strict in all his glory.

- You will come with me, be my royal Queen, rule the Seas beside me, receive my love and affection and all my godly power and protection. Say no and I will send this ship to the bottoms of the Abyss! Say yes and live for ever on the floors of the Sea!

He practically gave her no other choice. A promised wedding was her destiny after all, what difference would it make whether it be in a far away kingdom or deep beneath the waters? She was promised to a stranger husband, a stranger husband-to-be was already in front of her. Powerful, terrifying, ruthless.

- All right! All right! You can take me down with you. Just promise not to hurt anyone else.
- My sweet bride, a God keeps his word like the Seas know to keep their secrets.

And just like that she got on the mast, spread her arms wide and took the plunge into the terrifying spinning waterwhirl. As she was sinking, she could feel the water around her turning into to strong arms and closing her safe inside them. Down at the bottom the waterwhirl was now her Husband, God of the Seas, her Protector, her Ruler, her Man.
And there she lived and learnt all the mysteries of the Seas. She learnt to control the waters and let sailors sail safe, and that's when the waters were clear and blue. But when she saw the pirates and smugglers her rage would turn them black and storms would rise and sink the outlaws into a liquid cemetery prison.
And when she made love to her King, early at sunrise or late during sunset, the waters would take a sweet red, orange and golden color...

So now you know the story of the Corinthean Gulf :P

No wonder the sea outside of my windows changes colors!

But one question.......did they live happily ever after or did they have to work out a lot of marital problems?

You tell me! How often do you see the waters raging and whipping the shores? ;)

You are trying to hide or white wash something!

Because you already attributed the raging seas to higher motives: "But when she saw the pirates and smugglers her rage would turn them black and storms would rise..."

Hahaha! You got me!
Ok, she might do it whenever she and her husband had a little fight, but you can't tell people that. It ruins the romantic mystery, just like routine... That's why we have magic after all, to make our routines more bearable :)

I don't know. I kinda lean towards the old: "The truth shall set you free" line of thought. Romanticizing family life means that all kinds of creepy habits/compulsions/secrets get passed down generation to generation :-)

You can't romanticize everything nor should you, we don't live in a pink bubble made of cotton candy. But you can use some fantasy to "beautify" the dullness from time to time. At least that's what I think :)

OK. I will change my evil ways. Romance on the horizon.

INCOMING>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86