You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Choose Your Own Adventure!] The Deathlands

in #writing8 years ago

Hi. This post is very well written and would provide an intricate, interesting and enjoyable pastime for people with plenty of time.

Unfortunately, for the last several years (ever since the emergence of, and my contact with, bitcoin), I have been extremely pressed for time. I'd have to say that I have probably become an uninteresting person myself to people not on the same quest as me to alleviate the otherwise deplorable likely fate of humankind through blockchain technology.

Therefore, I read only the first portion of your post (enough to garner its high quality and craftsmanship) and I upvoted with half my steem power to show my appreciation for your effort and accomplishment. I upvote with all my steem power (yes, selfishly), those posts that are highly condensed and do not take up a great deal of time in order to savor and appreciate them fully.

Sort:  

That makes sense. Thank you for the upvote and comment.

By the way, this is my longest Choose Your Own Adventure of the four I have written here. The first one was much shorter: https://steemit.com/writing/@noelletwine/short-story-and-choose-your-own-adventure-the-interview

Basically I just keep writing until the story is over. ^.^;

I'm not really complaining about the length. It would be perfect if I was lying on a beach with a week off to indulge in pleasure reading.

However, I am 12, 14, sometimes 16 hours a day in front of multiple computer screens, on conference calls, e-mailing colleagues for strategy sessions, and trying to curate steemit. I seem to barely have time to cook the occasional meal for myself.

In the future I hope to have some breaks where I can read masterfully written fiction like yours, but that is not the case now. I am by no means a whale (I would probably be called a dolphin), but I know and have been conversing with some/most of the whales for a long time. My educated guess is that they are in somewhat the same position as me (highly stressed for time).

I guess the point that I am trying to make is that you should not take a lack of steem power vote for your posts as an indication of the quality of your writing (which is excellent), but as an indication that those with the most voting power (in the beginning - it will change, ie. get more dispersed) are probably voting for more condensed, time-saving material.

That is my opinion only, and I may be incorrect.

Thank you very much. That means a lot.

I will try to keep that in mind going forward. The nature of writing (at least for me, and surely for many writers) is that once you start a story, it kind of sweeps you up and goes where it wants to go, so I think I would be being dishonest to myself if I tried to cut length down in hopes of snagging whales more often. I hope you are right that it will change. =)

In the meantime, even if I don't get much attention early-on, Steemit is doing wonders for my longtime goal of writing (for which I somehow never had the right motivation).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67010.34
ETH 2604.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72