You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Movie Review: Netflix's Death Note.

in #writing7 years ago

I have not seen the film yet, but I will, just because it is Death Note after all. The manga was absolutely amazing, one of the best ones I've ever read. Light Yagami was a calculating mastermind, it is a pity to depict him like anything less in the film. And L... well, L was a highly optimized computer given human form, no room for sentiments just calculations and probabilities. I was really curious about how they would depict him on screen, and from what I read here, they failed.

The highlight of the manga was the cat & mouse game between L & Light, each one trying to outwit the other with complex reasoning & deduction methods. It is a difficult task to translate that into a movie, and keep it as thrilling as it was in the comic. But I would expect something more sophisticated than a horror-flick.

Anyway, thanks for the review and the warning, unfortunately it is one of the films that I cannot miss, if you know what I mean :)

Sort:  

You're welcome! Thank you for reading it!

And, I do understand what you mean. I hope maybe it won't disappoint you as much as it has me and other fans. It's really a shame that they couldn't make it into an amazing film and that they missed so many key components of the manga. Hopefully if they ever try again they do a better job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45