I took the windy road. You?

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I've been dabbling in the blogosphere since 2004 starting with MSN Spaces / Live Journal and then moved on to WordPress and Posterous. I didn't think much of it at the time, it was just fun to post things, format posts and play and learn with all the tools within each platform.

corinne-kutz-211251.jpg

Then life got busy & I abandoned blogging and my blog (the latter being a bad move on my part seeing as I had racked quite the number of views, but oh well).

Then came Medium. I was excited by the simplicity and how easy it was to share to Twitter & Facebook, plus the interactive community experience was a lot of fun. Recently, I read that Medium created a members platform, yet another subscription model. Being a paid member means you get this green ring round your profile and your stories automatically have a better chance of getting to the top. Hmm, I thought, they could have come up with something better, and that green ring around profile photos. Every time I see that, I have the urge to click, because it just reminds me of the WhatsApp stories & every other platform that's now doing stories! Anyhow, I digress. I couldn't help but think Medium should have come up with a better model, one where people actually get something out of writing. It's 2017 and being online is a hustle in itself. Everyone is adding stories and subscriptions to their model but not too many want to appreciate the people making and breaking these platforms. Oh well, maybe i'm in the wrong business and think people should be appreciated, even if a company has an objective that's larger than that.

Moving on... Earlier this year I signed up on Fiverr (ha! I know. Late to the party right?!) but I didn't quite start selling on there until I had this aha moment in May that I have skills people would pay for on there, and well, no one said no to a side gig - ever! One thing led to another and I came across a story about Steemit, how Steemit would be the Fiverr killer. Naturally, I got curious. Started googling about Steemit, got a little overwhelmed by the crypto talk (let's just say between Bitcoin and Ethereum, i'd reached my crypto quota for the day).

As life would have it, I got busy again, until earlier this week when I decided to take the leap and sign on here. It took 2 days to get approved which I thought was interesting, but here I am now and a month and a half too late i'd say!

How long have you been Steemin'? Tell me about your experience? What works? What doesn't work?

Sort:  

Congratulations @nrn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40