You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writers - Forget The Highs - The Gold Is In The Lows

in #writing6 years ago

I started writing at 18, just for the fun of it. It developed into a hobby, and a means to unbosom me. Then I started thinking about making this hobby of mine a money-making venture. I got good comments from people about my poetry, even though they were few but still I loved my poems.
Sometime last year I got this writing gig and it was exciting. wow! I was going to get paid for something I didn't mind doing for free! well the whole experience turned out to be something else. I was writing about things I do not know or care about. My editor complained about the sloppiness of my writing it just became depressing, I was being taunted for peanuts; for something I did not even like. So I quited and went back to my blog and continued where I stopped with my heart intact.
Steemit provides another opportunity for me to earn, which is a good thing. Yes, I get carried about making money (i haven't really made a lot, just three weeks old here). But I try to remind myself why I write, the importance of enjoying the process and that keeps me from being a total sellout-- I'm not perfect.
Nice post by the way. Very relatable.

We aren't defined by success and failure, however, they, give us the tools to really look deep into what we are doing in our art.

Word!

Sort:  

Don't feel bad.. Writing for big publications isn't high paying either.. If you freelance for major papers you are lucky to get a few hundred dollars an article. I'd rather do something else for a living (to get paid) - writing for a company could be soul sucking. In my experience whenever I've involved my hobbies in my work - I usually end up either resenting my hobby, resenting my work, or both!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66