"NO ONE REALLY READS LENGTHY POST(S)"

in #writing6 years ago

images.jpegsource

So today I want to talk about the lengthy post(s) and for the obvious reason: most people don't read them. Yes, and if you doubt me then check the comment section of some of these long posts and you would realize that most people are not giving actual feedback.
'Oh, nice post.'
'You did a great job.'
These comments have nothing to do with the subject matter of the article, they are simply stroking the writer's ego. And most writers know this, so they tend to ignore such comments.
So why don't people read the lengthy post?

The reason why most people don't read the very lengthy post(s) is that it takes time, and time that is scarce. Since most people are here to write and earn, spending 10-30 minutes trying to digest a post and give meaningful feedback is almost impossible. It's said that the average attention span is between10-20 minutes. It takes time and practice to get past this mark, especially when it's something they do out of necessity and no joy.
Personally, I have realized that once an article hits 500 words my brain starts to slur, I being to skimp through the article, trying to find the main point, which I clearly disapproved of in one of my older posts. But this is almost inevitable when the post is very long.

So what's the solution?

I've been trying to learn about cryptocurrency, the blockchain, etc. This might sound absurd since I'm on a platform that runs on one, but it is true-- I know very little about cryptocurrencies and I'm not ashamed about revealing my ignorance.
There are many articles and pdf files about cryptocurrencies--very lengthy, and I simply can't find myself reading or understand them. So what do I do? I opt for videos. Yes, I love the easy route. It takes little of my time and I'm equipped with the requisite surface knowledge needed to trade and buy cryptocurrencies. You don't need an in-depth knowledge of something to understand and apply it relatively well.
So instead of writing those long post(s) people never really read, try making a video of it and make it as concise as possible.
I'm done. In less than 600 words. My point has been made and I didn't have to bore you in the process. I could have though, give you facts and figures and all the things you would barely remember in an hour time.
Time is a scarce good. People don't have the time to learn everything. Thus it important that you're as precise as possible in our articles. You have a lot to say? Then do a video or series, segment the timeframe of the learning process. This way, we have people learning more and giving valuable feedback.

download (1).png

Sort:  

I totally agree with you. If a long post is not from a whale, I doubt people reqd them. However, some interesting long post are hard to resist.

True. Especially when it's a writer you fancy. For example, I always read @tarazkp articles, no matter how lengthy they are because they are organic and relatable .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54