You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Steem or Not To Steem?

in #writing7 years ago

YOU WILL NEVER BE ONE! Otherwise you wouldn't sell your "art" so cheap in a website where it can be heavily abused and plagiarized.

I've been thinking about that line and the context there for almost six hours. Still don't know what to say.

Sort:  

Hahaha!!! I hoped to cause some controversy with this line (as well as with a few other "existential" argumements there) but it has been really peaceful in the comments.

I make a valid point though, don't I? If any of us truly believed or thought that he/she gives birth to the next Mona Lisa or Illiad etc. would we just post them so lightly out there without any real copyrights? Think about it... I think the VAST majority of steemians are self-aware, no?

I'm still proud of what I've been able to accomplish. I'll just leave it at that.

It's not personal, mate. It has nothing to do with your work on steemit, which as you know very well I truly like.

Furthermore, I never said the "product" of a steemian is crap or trash. What I said is that realistically none's work here (from what I have seen) is on the level of Homer or Van Gogh. You realize that I picked these two for a GOOD reason, right?

Scholars from Harvard have concluded that the production of Illiad and Oddyssey would take over 2 decades of daily writing, editing blah blah. Lyrically and technically it is considered PERFECT!

Again experts agree that the way Van Gogh combined colours in some of his masterpieces is unmatched in art history. For any steemian to consider his work superior or equal to such titans of art that paved the way for millions that followed them is blasphemy to me.

I used the specific two examples for a reason as I said. I could have said "You will never be funny as Chris Rock" but I didn't. Now i think this man is a product of mass media. He's not even funny to me. He's grossly overrated. I do not see anything "genius" in his art.

Last but not least, taking pride in your work is a totally different thing. I do too and I am quite proud of what I produce on steemit to be honest. That's why you will never see me post a single picture just to make some money. Still, do I think I am the next Homer or Proust or Hemingway? HELL NO!

The only real judge is time...So, let's see how time judges our art ;)

You're the next you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63286.07
ETH 2472.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66