The Proofs! Again. #publishing

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

So, while I'm trying to figuring out what to do with regard to marketing, asking for advice everywhere and coming up with a plan (with many thanks to @yahialababidi), there is also still the part of publishing a book that I think is very exciting.

Well, exciting. It's exhausting. And exhilarating.
THE PROOFS.

The mailman just delivered them to me. The second proofs, that is. Some time ago I went through the whole, again, with a fine comb. I had some other people also take another look. And this was after the in-house editor of the publishing house had already gone through it all twice. But it's funny how much you still find.

So now it's time for another game:

Spot the difference 2.0.

Exciting. And a nice thing to balance out the marketing stuff. Because the publishing date is approaching fast.... 19th of March.

Proeven bekijken.JPG

About the book

Are philosophers mad? And why? This book is diagnosing philosophy based on the definitions used by the American Association of Psychiatrists, which can be found in the Diagnostic Manual (DSM-5). In eight chapters, different diagnoses are looked at. With a thorough philosophical background, explaining the attitude and aspirations of contemporary philosophy, using every-day life examples and popular literature and movies to introduce different schools of thoughts to a general audience. With eventually asking the question - who is mad, the one diagnosing or the diagnosed?

This publication is in Dutch, published by Damon. Although I'm working on an English version of it, I'm sorry to say that I haven't found a publisher for it yet, so it will take some time before it will be available in English. The book is written for a general audience interested in philosophy and psychology, but not per se with a background in these topics.

@nobyeni.png

Sort:  

I really can't wait to read it. Examples from movies and stuff, it seems so cool! Please keep me in the loop! Dutch or english!

It sounds like a great read. I am curious what you found about who are mad. Are you planning to make a post when it is available in Dutch?

Yes, will do. I'm working on some copy to be able to share it with people who are interested with more information about the book itself. But it all takes time... and the proofs seem top priority at the moment.

Than the proofs are priority :)
I am perfectly able to wait. I wish you all the mental power you need to make it your best work ever.

Very interesting premise for a book. Y’know, I’ve written in an aphorism of mine: There are many degrees in madness, philosophy is one 🤓

If you can get his attention, on Twitter, try asking Alain de Botton for publishers in English?

Good luck with proofs, going through mine, too. Not as thorough as the past, only spot-checking,

Yes, only spot-checking this time. And yes, he is on my list to talk to, once I get a version of the English manuscript beyond the rough draft it is at the moment :)
Good luck with yours as well!

Thank you - sounds like you’re on top of things 👌🏼

Keep at it!

That’s a very unique idea for a book I haven’t seen so far. Sounds very promising. I think a lot of people have the stereotype that philosophers are mad ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44