You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So, You Published A Book—Now, What?

in #writing6 years ago

Wow, thanks for the insights. And I guess I have been doing some of these things, but also have a lot of hesitation about most of the points you make. Rationally they make sense, but they're so not natural to me, to follow them through. Thanks for your support in this way. I guess I'll take it one step at the time, and one bullet-point at my list of things to do to get the word out at the time as well...
Thanks!

Sort:  

Thanks, for the inspiration! I've tried to answer your question, as best I can, and am glad you are doing some of these things, already :) As for the rest, including overcoming your hesitation, that is up to you, my friend, to determine how far you are willing to go. What we put in is what we get out...

Thank you for asking the question, @nobyeni, it shows positive direction in just what Yahia was relaying! While I'm not one who can read in Dutch, should your book ever find itself being translated to English, or, better yet, you find yourself stateside in promotion or to accept an accomplishment, I'd love to cheer you on your way however I can.

All the best to you in achieving all your goals to the fullest!!

I'm gonna join in this group chat ;-) and say that although it's difficult for an introspective person @nobyeni, I think there is no way round a certain amount of self promotion these days unless, as Yahia says, you're lucky enough to get Oprah on your side 😜. I have a friend who is a successful comic artist and she told me that roughly 70% of what she does is promoting, networking and social media chatter. I think you have a great plan in mind! Baby steps, building your activities weekly until it starts to feel more comfortable and before you know it'll be second nature. I wish you all the best.

Yahia, thanks so much for sharing your knowledge and insights on this subject. It is massively appreciated and I'm sure that so many people will benefit from this writing advice series you have started 🙂🙏

Rowan! Seeing this purely by chance, as it was not under my replies button, and I was scrolling down to find this post got Curied 🤓

I’ve hardly, consciously, started a writing advice series (frankly, a touch uncomfortable with that mantle) but we share what we have, right?

By the way, you did a wonderful job with your proverb submission 👌🏼

Sorry about that @yahialababidi I thought the comment would have shown up in your 'reply's' section, apologies. I am quite dozy sometimes 😉

Ha ha also, I'm probably the first person to call two posts a series in a while. I just wanted to let you know that I appreciated your insights on the writers' process from this post and the previous one Confessions of a Writer, For Anyone Interested in Publishing a Book (15 years of experience).

Glad you enjoyed the proverb post m8 :-)

No need to apologize, at all. I’m still learning and, this morning, began using a bot called Gina that’s meant to help out with these things 🕵️‍♀️

Been musing about sharing more on writer’s process, we’ll see... But, first having a little fun with Dtube 🤓

Have a great week, @raj808 ✌🏼

Yes, the baby steps seem to be working. So far I've written to the people in my network to see what help they can offer. Sometimes asking something can actually already help to get over some fear... as this post by @yahialababidi already shows. Even though I didn't really get helpful points out of it as to what to do - those are very specific and I'll need to figure those out for this particular niche and book - but he's given me a lot of courage to just try. After all, it's only my first book, and nothing can be really lost.

So I've started by also making a list of things on what to do. And getting a press-kit / info-material ready for when someone is interested.

You didn’t get helpful points as what to do, @nobyeni?! I wrote an entire post for you, sharing my experience & your initial response was that you were not comfortable with marketing, etc.

Well, that’s what you need to do

I’m glad you say, at least, that I’ve given you courage to try...

Yes, I meant with 'what' as in very concrete steps... which is also not something you can offer. Your post was very helpful in pointing me into this direction :)

Gotcha :) The specific research is also part of the author’s work and responsibility to their book.

Again, best of luck with that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45