1-Page Story Challenge #1 - Beautiful Experience

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Beautiful Experience

phot4o.jpg

I think the day that I went out with her, the one I call "Love." She gave me so much joy that day, I wouldn't trade it for anything in the solar system. It's a little different now, considering I'm drifting in a low gravity ship in the middle of a vast void, but I think I'll let myself drift off in my thoughts...

"H-h-hi..." I remember nervously saying to her that day.

She just smiled, said nothing and extended her golden brown hand. I froze in place; I was too nervous to do anything else. My heart sank to my stomach and was lifted away by butterflies.

My mouth became dry, pupils dilated. I tried to take her hand, but all I could muster was a twitchy arm. I was embarrassed. And to make matters worse, my mind wandered to the previous week I made a failed attempt to tell her that I liked her. I did, but she just didn't respond. She just looked shocked. I was broken, and then HE teased me for the whole week...

Anyway, she didn't seem the least bit worried about my antics. She waited patiently for me to take her hand and continued smiling. It felt like hours, but must have been no longer than a few seconds before she decided to take my hand.

I jumped ever so slightly at her touch, and my hands became clammy. She giggled. It was as if me being on the verge of a literal collapse didn't even affect her at all.

While I was in my thoughts, she tugged my hand and led me to a park. Did she know I liked to take walks in the park in my free time? .... But then we made our way to a trail. I really loved those. She couldn't possibly know that, right? Either way, I became my cool, calm and relaxed self as we walked down wherever the path led us for the next few hours.

We eventually came to a clearing within the dense trees and we sat on a patch of grass. I always carried food with me, so I took it out and over the next hour or so we were eating and feeding animals that walked by. Before long, the stars were out and visible through the tree tops.

I started a fire so that we had some warmth and shared with her a tale of a time I went to this brush and fed a grizzly bear from my hand. She smiled and I felt at peace. She then gripped my arm and brought it over to her side. We hugged. I melted in our embrace.

The new calm I felt from the walk was washed away, giving way to a renewed wave of emotions. We gazed up at the night sky and then something hit me, desire. She leaned onto my chest and we looked into each other's eyes. At that moment I realized she hadn't said a word our entire time together, and doubt was very visible on my face. I felt sad. I thought to the past week where she didn't respond to my advance.

She noticed my look and sat up. This was the first time I saw her not smiling the entire day. It wasn't usual for her to look nervous, but she did. I thought it was my face that caused her concern. So I adjusted my look and feigned a smile. I don't know who I was fooling, but I never had a good poker face.

She slowly leaned into my ear and then whispered, "I like you too..." and she kissed me on the cheek...!

#ShortStoryChallenge #1

Sort:  

Congratulations @nicksteele! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you so much!

Uuu very romantic story :)

Thanks! I'm still working on the formatting on this site though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71