A Strange tip to Write better

in #writing8 years ago

All of us here on Steem want to learn how to write better, and to that end, I encountered a tip that actually really helps you to learn how to improve your writing. It seems counter-intuitive at first, though.

Read bad writing.

While most people recommend reading good quality writing to learn how to write better, this actually makes it more difficult. Good writing seems effortless, and it is hard to see how it works. We also become discouraged, since we never see the early drafts, or the whole chunks of text that got left out of the finished product.

Bad writing, on the other hand, stands out. And when we see it, we can understand the mistakes the author made, and see how we would make it better. So, it becomes a learning experience. 

So, go and read something badly written! (If in doubt, I am sure you can find plenty in my blog)

Sort:  

I read a lot of bad writing every time I start a post
But persistence and rewriting makes it better over time
Good tips

Have you ever had to make a public apology? (How come?)

true advice.

I guess this is learning from other people's mistake. :-)
me.... still trying to improve.
anyway, thanks for the tip.

agreed to a certain extent

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44